warsaw flash back – tabbouleh with spicy oven baked salmon

platedTabbouleh I haven’t done for years, but it’s one of my favorite “salad”. I don’t know why I haven’t done it for such a long time, it’s not that it takes a lot of time to make and it’s SO tasteful, fresh and healthy.shopping mall sign

During my visit in Warsaw a week ago my travel mate Sue and I enjoyed lunch every day at the Zlote Terasy Shopping Mall Shopping Mall that was located just across the road from our hotel and also close to all public transport. “Sphinx” became our waterhole, service was good and fast .. and they have the most fantastic lemonade plus their Tabbouleh are outstanding.

Zlote Terasy has over 200 shops and nearly 40 places that offers food and drinks.all spiced up

Back here at home, I missed the Tabbouleh, so I indulge my friend and myself with salmon with  Tabbouleh. The salmon I have done before and I also use the same marinade for chicken.

This world famous salad has is the origin in Lebanon. I have eaten the most in France because the recipe is some sort of mix between the French-North African and Middle Eastern cuisine. In Lebanon’s mountains are eaten tabbouleh from the tender, spicy pickled vine leaves.frozen ginger

There is so many version on this salad, I couldn’t say which is the original. Most recipe has the tomatoes and cucumber de-seeded and very finely chopped, but I like texture to mine. Let’s start with the Tabboulehdraining

Tabbouleh – serves 4
3 tomatoes, wash and chop coarsely
2 cucumbers, wash and chop coarsely
1 small red onion, chopped finely
6 small spring onions, finely sliced
3 cloves garlic, minced
25 gr (1 cup) chopped fresh parsley
10 gr (1/3) cup fresh mint leaves
10ml (2 tsp)salt
100ml (1/2 cup) lemon juice
170ml (2/3 cup) olive oil
2,5ml (1/2 tsp) Sumak
freshly ground black pepper

Measure and prepare the bulgur to instructions on the package – and cool down.

Chop the tomatoes (I don’t de-seed) and cucumber (I don’t peel or de-seed), onion and spring onion. Transfer to a colander until it’s time to mix the salad, the Bulgar has to be cold when you mix everything. Chop the fresh herbs.mint & parsley

In a mixing bowl, combine the wheat, tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, garlic, parsley, mint, salt, lemon juice, Sumak and olive oil. Toss and refrigerate for at least 4 hours before serving. Toss again prior to serving and grind some black pepper over.ready to be mixed

Spicy Oven Baked Salmon, serves 4
4 x 150-200 gr fresh salmon portions, skin on or off – I used skinless.
2 tbsp butter

2 limes

Marinade/glaze (topping)
45 ml (3tbsp) allspice
30ml (2tbsp) finely grated ginger, I used frozen.
2,5ml (1/2 tsp) cayenne pepper
45ml (3tbsp) muscovado sugar
5ml (1tsp) kosher salt
45ml (3tsbp) dark rum or brandy (I used brandy)
30ml (2tbsp) olive oilclose up

  1. Crush fine the allspice in a pestle. Mix allspice, ginger, cayenne pepper, sugar and the salt. Stir in the alcohol.
  2. Oven on 175C/320F/Gas mark 4.
  3. Pan fry the salmon meat side in the butter for about 3 minutes together with the halved limes. Put the salmon with the skin down on a baking tray covered with grease-proof paper.
  4. Brush the marinade/topping generously on the salmon and put the tray in the middle of the oven, for about 10 min. Take out and let rest for another 10 mins. Because I used skinless salmon I brushed both sides.

Serve with the fridge chilled Tabbouleh and the fried limes.freshly squzzed

When using chicken breasts you have to increase the time for both the pan frying (10 min) and the oven baking (15-20min).

It’s a fantastic summer salad and goes with everything from the BBQ.

A great dish to enjoy the whole year around … if I had been in the right mood I would have enjoyed it with a glass of lovely chilled Cono Sur, 20 Barrels Sauvignon Blanc, Casablanca, Chile 2013 with it.very tasty

 

12 thoughts on “warsaw flash back – tabbouleh with spicy oven baked salmon

  1. Good to hear you had a good time in Warsaw, Viveka. That salad of yours looks delicious and amazing close up shots. Fresh and healthy, greens and a bit of meat. I too haven’t had Tabbouleh in a long, long time. Now, you are making me hungry 😀

    • Mabel, I always have a good time when I travel … have to make the best of it. Yes, it’s a great salad … had it 3 times in short time now. Thanks for your compliment.

Leave a Reply

