a bit italian on a tuesday – ovenbaked bacon risotto

ready to eatI have a friend, Tony, that owns a guide Michelin star since many years back in Scotland and he always make his risotto in the oven – I always so amazed over how he can get that creamy perfect risotto by putting it in an oven. I have always done it on the stove with all that stirring that it involves.

Have been sitting on this recipe for a few years, but haven’t really felt motivate to try the oven-method.  Last week coming up to Easter I took the “bull by the horn”  and IT WORK!!!! One of the best risotto I ever done.

I found a recipe on my USB that been there for quite awhile. Not many ingredients and easy – tick all boxes with me.  So with my friend over for dinner, I decided to give it a try.

The original recipe say that 18 min in the oven at 200C/290F/Gas Mark 6 should be enough, but it’s not. I had it in for 50 min and it came out perfect; dreamy creamy. Personal I don’t like al dente risotto rice. The dish will take about 15 min to prepare + the cooking time in the oven.

Oven-baked Risotto with Bacon and Tomatoes, serve 4
250gr/8.8oz diced smoked bacon
1 onion, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
300gr/1.5cup Arborio rice
150gr/5.29oz cherry tomatoes – halved
170ml/ 2.95cups vegetable stock
100ml/1,5fl oz white wine
10ml/2 tsp sugar
50 gr/1.75oz butter
50gr/1.75oz Parmesan cheese – grated
chopped fresh Mediterranean herbs (I used frozen)
Olive oil for frying

  1. Heat up the oven. Fry the bacon pieces in ovenproof pan or casserole (I don’t have any so I did all the frying in my saute pan and transfer it to an ovenproof dish)- until golden and crisp. Stir in onion, garlic and butter and cook for 3-5 min until soft. Tip in the rice and mix well until coated. Pour the wine over and add the sugar for about 2 min until all is absorbed under stirring.
  2. Add the halved cherry tomatoes and hot stock and give the rice a quick stir. Cover with a tightly fitted lid and bake for about 40-50min. I used folio instead of a lid.
  3. Stir through most of the parmesan when the dish is ready to serve and sprinkle the rest over when being served. I also mixed in some Findus frozen Mediterranean mixed herbs.
  4. Don’t forget to serve on heated plates. on the plate

I served with a nice warm Focaccia bread and a little side salad.  A really nice dish – I made the recipe for 4, but we were only 2 of us enjoying it and there wasn’t one full portion left for my lunch the following day.

One thing is for sure – no more stirring when I make risotto.

side salad

“You do not age while seated for a meal”
Italian proverb

28 thoughts on “a bit italian on a tuesday – ovenbaked bacon risotto

  1. Wivi, thanks for this! I haven’t made risotto for quite a few years because of all the standing and stirring…..but this looks just the ticket! 😀🎉🎉

    • You can’t go wrong with it. I have even done a single portion (yesterday) and it works fine. Let me know what you think. Good luck and thanks for the address.

    • Why not Italy came second last year … with a song that been released for a while. I like this song too .. but I didn’t know that it will be in Eurovision. Good luck to it.

Leave a Reply

