lens-artists photo challenge #116 – symmetry

Patti … didn’t make it easy for me this week, because even if I’m a big planner .. I’m not very symmetry person and neither is my photos.

So I had to dig a bit in my WordPress library, and I find some that I think will fit.

Thanks, Patti, for giving me a hard time *smile

”The French Riviera: A sunny place for shady people”
Unknown

The Place Masséna is a historic square in Nice, that during the last two weeks in February turns into fun, colourful and intense carnival centre during the Carnaval de Nice which is one of the world’s major carnival events, alongside the Brazilian Carnival, Venetian Carnival, and Mardi Gras in New Orleans. When visiting this year … we had the COVID-19 beading down our necks on the other side of the border in Italy. And the day we left Nice cancelled everything … soon after that the national lockdown. This is one evening without an evening parade. (Febuary 2020)

“Penicillin cures, but wine makes people happy.”
Alexander Fleming

The Douro Valley north of Porto is the world’s largest area of mountain vineyard and a Unesco World Heritage site. The vines are planted on steeply terraced hillsides and much vineyard work continues to be done by hand – an increasing rarity in the world’s great wine regions. The Douro Valley spans over 250,000 hectares, however, less than a fifth of that is under vine (approximately 40,000 hectares – but estimates vary wildly). Only 26,000 hectares are permitted for Port production, the rest is used for wine production. This vine belongs to the beautiful vineyard Quinta do Bomfim in Pinhão. (September 2019)

“Creativity takes courage.”
Henri Matisse

Wired and wonderful .. a piece of art by Turkish born artist Canan Tolon that I met a the İstanbul Modern, a.k.a. Istanbul Museum of Modern Art. Not the easiest piece to capture. (December 2019)

“Chandeliers are marvels of drop-dead showiness,
the jewellery of architecture.”
Peter York

The most photogenic building I ever visit,. The Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi. Which has seven imported chandeliers from the company Faustig in Munich, that incorporates millions of Swarovski crystals. The largest chandelier is the second largest known chandelier inside a mosque, the third-largest in the world, and has a 10 m (33 ft) diameter and a 15 m (49 ft) height with weighs around 12 tons. (March 2019)

“I wish my bank account refilled
as fast as my laundry basket.”
Unknown

This I call seriously symmetry … that somebody takes the time to hang the laundry in colours. Just so wonderful .. and it brought a big smile to my day. I would have loved to meet the woman behind this because I have a hard time to even imaging that a man has hanged this. Spotted in Tbilisi Old town. (December 2018)

Edvin Marton - Wikipedia

The cloud hanging over this post I have chosen just because I just love this arrangement by Edvin Marton of beautiful pieces from Giacomo Puccini’s opera Tosca”, that he calls “Tosca Fantasy”. Edvin Marton (1974) is a Ukrainian-born Hungarian composer and violinist.

Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #116: Symmetry

37 thoughts on “lens-artists photo challenge #116 – symmetry

    • As I said so many times before – you’re my kind of girl. *smile I hope you have had a look at my post about the 2cellos … talk about musicians. Yes, that laundry hanging is priceless … but as I said to Loisa, I’m disappointed the the pegs wasn’t color coordinated with garments. It really made my day.

    • Thank you, Loisa … couldn’t believe it when I saw it .. a bit disappointed that the pegs didn’t match the garments. *laughing. It truly made my day. It still makes me smile.

  1. Excellent photos, excellent quotes and commentary. For a person who’s ‘not very symmetry’, you did well. I suspect anyone could walk into an area, close their eyes, and point their camera in a direction, and get some symmetry eventually. It’s everywhere!

    • John, what a great idea … and you’re right … symmetry everywhere even if we don’t notice until we have a camera in our hand. For me live in one world with a camera and another without, so much boring/dull without the camera – Oscar is still away for repairs. John, thank you so much for your kind comment. You’re such a great sport.

    • Janet, I don’t think one person that has visited that mosque … hasn’t been taken in by it with a WOW! The beauty of it .. and in the evening with the light turns blue depending on how strong the moon is. Absolutely priceless. But it has also cost a lot of money to build, US$545 million for only the construction work. If you ever go there, visit in the late afternoon … so you will experience the blue light coming. It’s about 1-hour drive from Dubai.

  2. You have delighted with your quotes today – As I happen to be allergic to what Mr Fleming prescribes I much prefer the alternative . . . and, ere I had been for the first time, I also thought of the Riviera as somewhat ‘shady’ . . . methinks it has lost some of its 1920s sophistication and charm but has all those eateries around in the hills . . . I liked Cannes and my daughters the tiny comfort of Monte . . . NOW thank you for the ‘Tosca; – you do make us do homework, don’t you 🙂 !!!

    • I can’t say that I have been a big fan of the French Rivera … but I had a very nice “boyfriend” living in Monte Carlo so it was my playground for a couple of years and that was in the 70s and Nice and I didn’t get along at all. Then I returned in the 90s and it was a completely changed city in its attitude. Before it had the same attitude as Paris has. Now it’s welcoming and very pleasant. It has become a place I gladly return for the carnaval, but not this next February, but planning to go back for more in 2022. I always need to have some foresight. Glad you liked my choice of cloud.

      • *laugh* Just had my long tern husband . . . we found it pretty romantic in the restaurants of the Hinterland. . . Have just been to the US for the Debate . . .absolutely no music there for me . . . we probably would agree . . . . .

      • *laugh* No, no – not for quite a while ! At the moment I travel as I do to you ! Am glad I am not the only one who found yesterday’s scenario impossibly ugly !!! Love America, have many friends there, would not go even if offered a free ticket . . .

      • Eha, totally agree … I wouldn’t go neither to the US, because of that MAD MAX … and mostly because of the COVID-19 situation over there. I disgusted by at all – that is the man who holds the most powerful job in the world. Unbelievable. I wish a pleasant weekend. *smile

    • THANKS!!! That day we visited that stunningly beautiful vineyard it was +32C and I just wanted to melt away, so there wasn’t much walking around outdoors, but I enjoyed the lunch on the terrace with a view of the Duoro River and all the vines on the other side climbing up the hills. The picnic lunch was superb. I wouldn’t mind going back.

  3. This is a wonderful post, Vivi. I love, love, love that shot with the color-coordinated laundry. I totally agree about the woman hanging it!! Thanks as always for adding your wonderful perspective (and images) to the challenge.

    • Patti, thank you so much … you didn’t make it easy for me. But as John wrote the world around us is very symmetry, only me that doesn’t see that. Oscar does a much better job. My Oscar has been away since July … hopefully he will be back soon.

  4. Thank you for giving us a glimpse of the Istanbul Museum of Modern Art and the Istanbul Museum of Modern Art. Stunning! A beautiful set of photos of symmetry, Vive!

    • Thank you so much, Amy … I love Istanbul Museum of Modern, they are on a temporary site just now, that was just behind our apartments. They are going down by the water again. Always very interesting art and their old cafe served fantastic food with a view over the Bosphorus strait.

  5. Well Viveka, you may not shoot it often but you surely shoot it beautifully! The Turkish art piece is such an amazing example and SUCH a difficult image to make – job well done!!! Also the chandeliers are amazing. My husband and I had a trip planned to the Duoro valley this fall which was of course cancelled. So glad you caught the Nice festival in time!

    • Tina, a hearty thank you! It wasn’t an easy piece to capture – but I manage .. Oscar liked it. Duoro Valley is a must … we took the train from Porto – stayed overnight in a little cute hotel run by 2 bothers – just across from the station. The visit to the vineyard was fantastic, but the weather was far too hot to walk around in. The vineyard picnic basket was great .. and sitting out on their terrace with views over the river and the vines under a big parasol .. life is felt very good.

  6. Wow, Viveka – smashing as usual, and your quotes are delicious. For not being a symmetry person – you did splendidly! Sorry to have not commented on all before, but I was so down from everything because of mother.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.