cee’s fun foto challenge – tombstones and cemeteries

If there is one place in the world, where I feel total peace and in a harmony with myself … it must be at the Jewish Cemetry in Warsaw. Can spend hours there and when leaving I feel so peaceful. 

Not that I have any connection what so ever with the cemetery, but it’s nature’s way to care and embrace all the victims of WWII and the atrocious crime against the human race.

Nature makes it so beautiful and a sanctuary for generations to follow. …. and gives them time to reflex and remember. Just as it does for me. It’s not a place that makes me feel sad .. or upset. It makes me feel so thankful for my life. 

A place I visit every time I’m in Warsaw and it embraces me too.

“But here God didn’t come.
We were all on our own.”
Art Spiegelman

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Tombstones or Cemeteries

39 thoughts on “cee’s fun foto challenge – tombstones and cemeteries

  1. What beautiful photos! I, too, find peace and solace in cemeteries. More so the older ones with the history of people long gone and the stately tombstones. I’ve been visiting old cemeteries for about the past 25 years. If you look at my photos I have: grandchildren, nature, cats, and cemeteries.
    Thank you for sharing these with us. I’ve never been to Warsaw, and probably will never get there, so I enjoyed being able to see some of these.

    • Thank you so much, Trisha … I had the same solace feeling at the Memorial Park in Hiroshima. I didn’t feel any sadness … I felt embraced. In Warsaw the nature take care of the headstones … there hasn’t been anyone to look after them. My pleasure, Trisha … I wish that everyone had a chance to visit this cemetery. I have never visit the mass grave – the cemetery is so big and it’s still used today.

  2. A place where God didn’t come sums it up, Vivi. What survivors we are, but one wonders for how much longer. It’s a beautiful post, but I’m feeling anxious this morning. Waiting for good news about a friend who is critically ill. Sending hugs, sweetheart 🙂

Leave a Reply

