an innovative surprise with traditions – restaurante raiz, porto

If you want to check out more of my dining adventures around the world – just click on this logo

Sunday is always a tricky day to find great restaurants …. but I was very lucky during my 6 night’s stay in Porto in June. I always put time into research for places to get great food adventures when I travel. The wining and dining is a big part of my adventures.

Restaurante Raiz was only a short walk from my hostel … around the corner from São Bento Station and Intercontinental Hotel. I had pre-booked my table on “TheFork”.  A restaurant booking site that I use quite often when I travel and owned by Tripadvisor.

Raiz means Root, and I understand where the name comes from .. the root of Portuguese home cooking – with a modern twist. “Raiz” is ranked  #50 of 1,492 Restaurants in Porto with Tripadvisor. A true gem to place with very relaxing atmosphere and great service.

I had the owner looking after me – a great big guy with a lovely sense of humour and big personality.

RAIZ (web site only in Portuguese)
Largo dos Lóios 8
4000 Porto
Opening hours:
Mon-Fri: 12:00 – 15:00 19:00 – 0:00
Sat-Sun: 19:00 – 12:00
Phone: +351 22 201 0940
Traditional Portuguese with a modern twist
€€-€€€

I decided that I want to sit in the bay window … by the entrance which surprised them a bit – but I wanted to have a good look at the street life outside.

First I thought that the restaurant was a small and very intimate restaurant, but I soon found out that it is over 3 floors. And very, very busy. During my time there they most have turned away about 30 people. So book table.

My menu for the evening:
Tiborna with fresh Linguiça sausage and fried egg
Lamb rack with basil crust and pistachios
Sweet potato pudding with orange

Tiborna is a traditional bread served like bruschetta. The Tiborna designates in Alentejo and Olivença a freshly baked bread that comes out of the oven and is sprinkled with good quality olive oil and sprinkled with salt or sugar. Linguiça is a form of smoke cured pork sausage seasoned with garlic and paprika.

The starter was absolutely divine, so full of flavours. Plus it was so beautiful on the plate. No fooling around with the food. Just straight forward. 

Lamb … my favourite meat … and Raiz didn’t disappoint me. Perfectly cooked and great portion, 4 chops. I loved that basil and pistachios crust. Came served with sauteed vegetables and cheese topped new potatoes. Excellent! Dessert … a MUST for me when I’m dining out. I’m a true Pudding girl. I went for the Sweet potato pudding because I really liked what I was reading. I like Sweet potatoes in all forms and shapes, but I never enjoyed it as a dessert. And it was a perfect ending to a fantastic dinner. 

I had a fantastic evening … and just sitting there watching the street life with the evening falling soft … and buzz from the place and all the flavours made it to the most memorable dining adventures. I drank red wine by the glass and of course I finished off with a cappuccino. 

The bill came to 43€ – so I rounded it off to 50€ with the tip – wort every cent.

“RAIZ” is a place that can delight solo diners, couples, friends and big parties. A place that I highly recommend.

I didn’t have one less good dining experience in Porto, but RAIZ … gave me one of the BEST!!!!

“In a restaurant choose a table near a waiter.”
Jewish Proverb

9 thoughts on “an innovative surprise with traditions – restaurante raiz, porto

    • Thank you, Loisa, very kind of you, not easy to capture food on restaurants, because of the lighting is always so bad, but it helped that I was by a big window …. one of my favourite quotes!!!

Leave a Reply

