an open landscape – my beloved scania (skåne)

Skåne County (Swedish: Skåne län), sometimes referred to as Scania County in English, is the southernmost county or län, of Sweden, basically corresponding to the traditional province Skåne.

Area total: 11,034.5 km2 (4,260.4 sq mi) and around 1,3 million of us are living here. We are a farmer county … we grow anything … mostly potatoes, peas,  rapeseed, grains, sugar beets, flax, apples, corn, onion, strawberries and we make Absolute Vodka. Pig farming is big and we produce a lot of dairy products, especially milk.

 

And we love our food … we have a saying – “Good food, lots of food and food on time.”

“I feel best in open countryside,
Near the sea, I want to stay
A few months a year,
So that the soul can rest.
I feel best in open landscapes,
Where the winds get up.
There, the larks are high in the sky
And sings wonderfully.
Where I can burn my liquor myself,
And season it with St. John’s Wort 
And drink it with pleasure,
To herring and homemade bread.
I feel best in open countryside,
Near the sea, I want to stay.”

15 thoughts on “an open landscape – my beloved scania (skåne)

    • Yes, it truly is … but so your’s surroundings. You live at a stunning place. Sweden is breathtaking, doesn’t matter where you go … but Skåne has the biggest piece of my heart.

    • Maureen … so you have some thick Scania blood in your veins. How lovely. Sweden is a beautiful country doesn’t matter what part, but Skåne is BEST in my book. *smile

    • Thank you … it’s the lyrics in English to the song I use as cloud over my post. Freely translated, one of Sweden’s most popular modern times song.

      • 🙂 I was just afraid, that this (seemingly) beautiful country could in fact have a hidden side of agroindustry. But I know that there’s a lot of organic farming in Sweden 🙂

      • Personal I think that if we should have food enough to everybody … organic farming need help. In a perfect world … and it’s also about money. Not everybody can afford to buy organic .. in Sweden it’s 30% more expensive at times. But we are on the right track I think. Thank you for your visit.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.