weekly photo challenge – change (day and night in Gdansk)

In beautiful Gdansk, Poland, just now and of course I have to use some images from here. My choice of change is day into night.

My images is of the largest brick church in the world, St. Mary’s Church and the little Royal Chapel. The foundation stone for the was placed on on 25 March 1343 an completed in 1505.

at day
at night

The interior vault supports 37 windows, over 300 tombstones and 31 chapels. It can hold up to 25,000 people. St. Mary’s was seriously damaged during WWII.

The church has an enormous astronomical clock dating from 1464, made by Hans Duringer. But I think the outside clock is more beautiful. Can’t find any information about the outside clock. I suppose it’s not that interesting beside the astronomical clock inside.

Tomorrow I will get the name of the maker. His name is Hans Konnath, it It was constructed in 1635-1637.

outside clock, dayfamous clock, night

“Through every dark night, there’s a bright day after that”
Tupac Shakur

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/change-2015/

23 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge – change (day and night in Gdansk)

    • Gdansk … is one beautiful spot – and everything is on the door step … good food too. I really enjoy my stay too – many years since I was here last and that was in the middle of winter. Still beautiful. Thanks, Lulu!

    • Thank you, Dia. Happy Sunday to you …. I have this church nearly on my doorstep .. so I could make Gdansk fit the challenge .. but poor Oscar is overworked by now. The weather is fantastic too .. full summer.

  1. Beautiful pictures.

    By the way, you’ve been chosen as one of today’s nine blogs in That’s So Jacob’s Ninth Month Blog Challenge (http://www.thatssojacob.wordpress.com)! I challenge you to find nine blogs you find interesting and give them a comment to brighten their day…well, eight other blogs and mine 🙂 Copy this message in your comment and enjoy your new blog friends!

    • Yes, you can miss this …. still plenty tourist around, but not over crowded. So avoid the summer. Think it’s about 4 hours by train from Warsaw. Stunningly beautiful. Have beautiful weather … my camera is on overdrive. *smile .. a lot more to come.

    • Thank you, Tina … I had it a bit for free this week, because the church is nearly on my doorstep. The night shot of the clock could have been a bit better, maybe I do another try tonight. *smile

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.