69 big thanks, maybe 70

third-rpc

I know it’s Sunday … and my blog free day – but I just have to say THANK YOU!

66 of them go to ALL of YOU that has voted for my photo “THANKS FOR THE ROSES” – and made it win. Fantastic news – what a finishing of my first blogging year and what a start of my second blogging year.

A big massive thank you goes to Flobo@rodposse – for arranging those competitions for happy amateurs like me. Love to win them.

And big thank you goes to Nokia, because it was with my E65 I took the photo and that isn’t a smart phone.
The photo is about 9 years old – and it has been my profile image since day one – Skype, dating sites, mobile screen … and it’s my gravatar here on WordPress, but the cropped photo. Because I have spent the money that I got for it – spent them in New Orleans.  nokia_e65 - whitegadget com

Many has asked about the photo through the years, and also I have sold the copyright for the photo to an public relations company … so be able to use the photo I had to chop it a bit, that’s why it’s a bit missing.

Of course with roses involved there also has to be a man involved or??? Yes, there was and what a man. *smile

It was during my years in Belfast I met this fantastic man from Boston, but born in Belfast. So during a some weeks when he visited his family we had a fantastic time together.

A couple of days after his return to Boston – I received the biggest bouquet of pink roses I ever seen. 32 roses, one for each day we spent together.

My first instinct was to take a photo of the bouquet and send back as a thank you card, but it felt a bit boring and he was no way near being boring.

Then by accident when I moved the roses I saw in a mirror that my lips and the roses was in the same shade of pink – then it clicked for me.
That was also when Magnum Ice Cream had their billboard commercials with a beautiful lips and a Magnum – I loved the commercial, because it was seductive and naught. Maybe I should say thank you to Magnum too. *smile

thank you framed

So that was it – with help from my bathroom mirror and my Nokia E65, and some juggling about, I got this photo.

Sent it (un-cropped) over to Boston with a thank you mail .. and a couple of weeks later I got a mail back with a photo – A photo of my photo .. in a massive blow up and framed behind his desk at his office in Boston.

… what happen to this fantastic man and me???? Never happen again, but we sometimes send each other email. Sometimes 32 intensive days is just the right amount for making unforgettable memories for a life time.

So the last big thank you goes to you, John, for sending me those magnificent roses, for the great memories and for making my photo a part of your everyday.

“Silent gratitude isn’t much use to anyone.”
G.B. Stern

Bon Jovi’s “Bed of Roses” I have chosen as my music cloud, because they are John’s favorite band and this is his favorite song. I’m not to sure that it is Bon Jovi on this track, but who ever it’s does a fantastic job of the song.

thank you - weddingpapermasters com

Photos provided by and thank you to: (noika) whitegadget.com
& (thank you card) weddingpapermasters.com

41 thoughts on “69 big thanks, maybe 70

  1. Wow I am impressed.. not only with the photo or for that matter with the encounter with the gentleman, but that he had the photo blo enlarged and hung in his office… this must be an encounter you both have fantastic memories of… wonderful.. as for the win.. you deserve it…

    • John is are real gentleman – I knew that he would like the photo – because that is the kind of man he are – but couldn’t believe when I saw that massive photo – nearly taking up the whole wall. And he are a lawyer. Bet he has got some questions about that photo. We had such a fantastic time togeter.

      Thanks for your kind words … the photo means a lot to me – so winning .. make the bound even stronger.

    • Colleen, I have been a single woman most of my life – men has come and stay, some longer than others – but I wouldn’t like to been without any of them. Not all was like John. *smile

      • You make life look good Viveka. So full of color! So full of experiences! Wonderful flavors and tastes. I look forward to your blog because I know it’s going to be full of something lively. I’m glad there was John. And all others who filled your life with life.

      • Colleen, it’s so nice to have you cheering me on .. from your concer *laughter. I’m glad that John came around too *smile

        Life is pretty good … but it’s all up to us to make – if I decide I will have a good day when I step out bed, I will have a good day. It’s all in our attitude.

        You’re on of those that fills my life … Thanks for your support.

      • You’re welcome Viveka. ANd I like your comment “Life is pretty good … but it’s all up to us to make – if I decide I will have a good day when I step out bed, I will have a good day. It’s all in our attitude.” You are so right. It took me a long time to learn this. But I’m learning it! And loving it!

      • Colleen, you’re a smart woman – I have met far to many people that only celebrate the ones they have lost – and forget to celebrate the ones around them that are living. We have to move on – we have to decide to have good days …

    • Yes, it was a very romantic and sweet – he are some man, but better with 32 wonderful days to remember and nothing or days that was getting bad.

      Thanks .. for dropping by.

  2. Congratulations! You did it again!!! 🙂
    The story behind is sweet – what I nice man he must have been 😉
    Have a very HAPPY Sunday and RELAX after all the photos you’ve taken for and stories shared with us 🙂 xo

    • Sure that John are still a fun, considerate … exciting, romantic and sexy.
      I haven’t received any news about that he has married … so he over there make great memoires still.
      The best thing with him was .. that he didn’t like beer. An Irish man that don’t like beer .. don’t grow on trees.

      Thanks for your kind words.

  3. Wow, sounds like a steamy story you may have to tell there, Viveka. Thank you for sharing the story of your profile photo too. I always wondered. Congratulations on the win.

    • Not that steamy .. not more than normal *smile .. I think. No, that I want to keep to myself.
      I know a lot of you have wondered – because to have it not normal I suppose to eat roses, even if we can – in England they do great marmalade from roses.

  4. Viveka, here I was reading this and smiling, because it made remember one short and extremely intense relationship I had. It lasted 2 months, we met a conference, travel to 6 different countries together, then was time to go back to real life. Sure was great.
    And of course congrats!
    xx

    • Leo, sometimes the great love stories are the shortest – because the everyday dull things .. the reality .. don’t have a chance to enter.

      Thanks … it felt good to win again.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.