lens-artists photo challenge # 97 – pastimes

… Sue, has really put me on the spot this week and even if I really like the topic, but what do I do for my pastime????

Travel … travel … and more travel, but those days I’m not even able to cross the bridge and enjoy a day trip to Denmark, which is always fantastically delightful. I miss it very much.

I would say that Denmark is one of my favourite past times. Denmark has been in the top 3 to be the happiest country in the world for years and in 2017 it was number ONE!!!

“If Americans want to live the American dream,
they should go to Denmark.”
Richard G. Wilkinson

I truly love their relaxed atmosphere, culture offers, fun events, art galleries and the food. Denmark is only 1 hour away with train … and still, it’s like coming to another continent.  The only downside with Denmark is that their krona is 40% more expensive than ours, so a visit never comes cheap. So I will dedicate the post the Danish capital, Copenhagen and it’s surroundings.  Nearly my next-door neighbour.

Ann-Christine@Leya   and I had planned a day trip with a visit to Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek that is an art museum in Copenhagen at the end of March, but Denmark closed their borders a week before. The museum’s collection is built around the personal collection of Carl Jacobsen, the son of the founder of the Carlsberg Breweries. It would have been a revisit for me after 44 years.

“Denmark is like a secret little place with its own special language.”
Helena Christensen

When I was young and foolish I lived in Copenhagen for a year, in 1968, 20 years old .. what I didn’t know about life and love Copenhagen taught me and it also gave me a fantastic platform for my career as a chef.

Both Ann-Christine and I love the danish potato cake – Kartoffelkage (no calories) – we have said that so soon we are able to get across the bridge we will not only be going to have one kartofflekage … we are going to have 2. One on arrival to Copenhagen Central station and one before we are getting on the train back to Sweden. It’s pure indulgence and has a lot of guilty pleasure.

“Denmark is like a big family of people.”
Susanne Bier

One of my favourite Danish destinations is ARKEN Museum of Modern Art in is Ishøj, is located 20 min train journey south of Copenhagen and on the edge of the Øresund shoreline.

There I have enjoyed some magical exhibitions by  Niki de Saint Phalle, Ugo Rondinones, Gerda Wegener, Michael Ancher and P.S. Krøyer.

The Louisiana Museum of Modern Art is an art museum located on the shore of the Øresund Sound in Humlebæk, 35 km north of Copenhagen. That means that have to go on 10 min train journey to Helsingborg and then a 20 min the ferry trip to Helsingør, also known as Elsinore, followed by a 20 min bus journey. To visit Louisiana is a real escape from everything … also situated just by the Øresund strait.

“How beautiful it is to do nothing,
and then rest afterward.”
Danish Proverb

80% of the museum’s showrooms are under the ground. The museum is included in the Patricia Schultz book 1,000 Places to See Before You Die and ranks 85th on a list of the most visited art museums in the world (2011).

Then we have the Copenhagen city centre …

and then we have the fantastic, but very expensive airport – my airport, Kastrup. That has been the gate to the most fantastic adventures in the last 11 year and hopefully will be for many years to come. 50 min direct train journey from Landskrona.

“If Copenhagen were a person, that person would be generous, elderly, but with a flair
and filled with imagination and with an appetite for the new and with respect for the old
somebody who takes good care of things and of people.”
Connie Nielsen

Danmark, jeg elsker dig!!!

Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #97- Pastimes

20 thoughts on “lens-artists photo challenge # 97 – pastimes

    • Thank you so much … it’s very easy to fall in love with Denmark, but it’s an expensive love affair. *smile – Can’t wait for it to open up for us, Swedes.

  1. Splendid pictures, Viveka! The food looks delicious! And so many wonderful things to see in Denmark. I hope it won’t be too long before travels restrictions are lifted so we can all get back to enjoying our favorite places. Thank you for participating in the challenge and sharing these interesting images.

    • Sue, thank you so much for this week’s playground. Really liked your topic. A A true pleasure to play this week and thanks for your lovely comment.

    • Lola, it’s nearly impossible not to love Copenhagen and Denmark. But in the winter Copenhagen is a b..t… !!!! Windy and never any shelter for it anywhere, but for the other 9 months … WONDERFUL!

  2. Viveka – now you did it again…made me ache for Denmark, kartoffelkage, art, food and YOU! I think I agree, Denmark travels are a pastime as good as any, even better. Wonderful post.

    • Yes, 1968 in Copenhagen gave me a fantastic platform for my adult life. Had probably the best time of my life so fare. Never slept. *laughing – I’m still catching up on the lack of sleep I got. There were no pains in those days.
      John, thanks for cheering me on.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.