lens-artists photo challenge #54: detail

Taxi …. couldn’t live without them.

When I travel I don’t use taxis that much anymore … I use transfer services, public transport or I walk. Normally I choose restaurants in walking distance for my accommodation, but once in while I use them. I want them to be there … if I need them.

Love taxi drivers … because they can talk about everything.  Only once I was lucky to get a less talkable driver. It was in Belfast, he didn’t like to talk while working. I told him he should apply for a job with Metro Bus Company because their drivers don’t talk neither.

A couple of years ago I decided for fun to always capture a taxi sign … on all my destinations, not so easy at times. No artistic thoughts behind it at all, only a fun detail.

“The one thing you shouldn’t do is try to tell
a cab driver how to get somewhere.”
Jimmy Fallon

My taxi company in Belfast, superb service. Use them nearly every day (twice) to work during the 10 years I lived there. Superb service! Still use them when I’m in town  – April 2014

“Life is like a taxi. The meter just keeps a-ticking
whether you are getting somewhere or just standing still.”
Lou Erickson

Chicago – September 2014

“I had a job as a paralegal. I drove a cab.”
Larry David

Istanbul – December 2014

“The best moment of love is when the lover leaves in the taxi.”
Michel Foucault

Brighton, UK – February 2015

When living in Brighton … I had the most awaked lock on my front door, needed the key to open it from the inside … and I don’t know how many times I closed the door with key in lock on the outside, so I had to phone Brighton taxi and ask them to come and open the door for me, cost me £3.00 every time – worth every penny.

“There are definitely answers only the cab driver can give us.”
Stephen Sirard

Warsaw – June 2015

“Always be nice to the taxi driver!
They know places where no one will find you.”
Unknown

Stockholm – February 2014

“Taxi drivers!
The only people who prefer ways around to shortcuts.”
Unknown

Pristina, Kosovo  – August 2016

“I took a cab today, and the driver told he love his job,
he owns the cab, he got his own business, he is his own boss, no one tells him what to do.
I said “turn left”
Unknown

Hong Kong – March 2019

“For me, a taxi is like a public space
because so many people get in that space.”
Yasmine Hamdan

Berlin – September 2015

“Here’s how you know that you’re really drunk:
when you get into a taxi cab and you think the fare is the time.”
Dane Cook

Prague – December 2015

“In New York City, a lot of people think “the great outdoors”
is the area between your front door and a taxi cab.”
Michael Bloomberg

New York – September 2013

Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #54: Detail

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “lens-artists photo challenge #54: detail

  1. Viveka, this is my all-time-favorite of all your posts, and that’s really saying something!!! I love, love, love your images, quotes and text. How great to have this series from over the years!!!!

    • Tina, thanks for your faithful support. Yes, so glad that A-C mention the challenge … missed out most of the year, but the main thing is that I’m now in the sandbox playing with you girls.

    • Thanks, A-C!!! Wasn’t that easy to find taxi quotes that were suitable, but I did some digging. Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I guess that quite a few would choose details from material and buildings, so I thought I will do something different. Go outside the box a little bit. It was a fun post to make, but it took a bit of time … but on the other have, I have plenty of time. *laughing
      Tomorrow .. doctor in Helsingborg, a bit uneasy today.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.