weekly photo challenge – temporary

In my life … is there loads of very temporary things that I love and like: drinks, cakes, desserts and ice cream – is some of them.

With that I mean they don’t last very long, but they are all simple pleasures … and give me loads of guilty pleasures (I don’t mind).

I never drink any alcohol home alone .. not even a glass of wine, but I eat loads of ice cream!!!!!!!

Desserts I’m pretty good with … but I DON’T bake!!!!!!

But there are even better things that are permanent and also tough ones.

“Life’s short. Eat dessert first!
Lea Mishell

(Buffet dessert at Museu Serralves, Porto – June 2017)

“Sometimes too much to drink is barely enough.”
Mark Twain

(A very good mojito at Restaurant LOCAL, Łódź – September 2017)

“I don’t have to tell you I love you.”
I fed you pancakes.
Kathleen Flinn

(Apple pancakes that I enjoyed in Warsaw, July 2015)

“Ice-cream is exquisite – what a pity it isn’t illegal.”
Voltaire

(Mega ice cream served at Hort Cafe, Łódź – October 2017)

“Drink because you are happy,
but never because you are miserable.”
G.K. Chesterton

(Pink Manhattan at “P.J. Clarke’s on the Hudson” in North Cove Marina, Manhattan/NYC – September 2013)

“I’ve never met a problem a proper cupcake couldn’t fix.”
Sarah Ockler

(Very good looking Chrismas cupcakes, Coffee Company  Café – Elite World İstanbul Hotel, Istanbul – December 2015)

“Ice cream is my comfort food.”
Jessie Ware

(Donauzentrum shopping mall ice cream, Vienna – November 2015)

“Penicillin cures, but wine makes people happy.”
Alexander Fleming

(White wine at my friend’s beautiful roof top terrace, Vienna – August 2014)

“There’s nothing better than cake but more cake.”
Harry S. Truman

(My absolute favorite cake – the Danish potato cake (Kartoffelkage) in good delicous company – Lagerkagehuset, Copenhagen –  July 2013)

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/temporary/

43 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge – temporary

    • Allan, a big hearty thank you … I know … food and drinks need some tricks to look good on images, but I have been working as a chef for 35 years and worked with a fantastic food photographer for over 10 years, very fascinating. I’m not really that good .. but sometimes it works for me. I really appreciate your comment.

      • Food photos are a world unto their own. My wife was in catalog advertising many years ago and the food stylists always fascinated me. You have picked up a lot of good photo habits from your associate.
        Ω

      • I was thinking of becoming a food stylist when I tried, but I don’t have the patience. Food have to be raw for photographing, more or less .. that’s why it’s so difficult to get good images of fully cooked meals. My “associate” won the award for the world’s best cookery book last year in China, so I been in a good company. Thank you so much!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Temporary | Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  2. 🙂 Oh, my God, dear Wivi!
    Only you could pick these mouthwatering-lovely pictures.
    Why do I always look at your photos at night? They always make me peckish for something sweet, like a hugs ice cream (and I have none left).
    Hope you’re well!?
    Many hugs xoxoxo 🙂

    • Dia, I wish I can give you some of mine … I have enough for two at home. I’m doing okay, but the new medicine for my nerve pain doesn’t work and two big teeth jobs going on … will cost me a couple of arms and legs. When we get old we are getting fragile – old repairs are giving up. *smile
      I hope you’re doing okay .. was in looking at our Transatlantic cruise yesterday … for the last of this year they have great discounts. If I hadn’t booked Krakow .. I think I would have gone. Only 850£.

  3. That raspberry looks good enough to eat, Vivi. 🙂 🙂 Smiling! Not online much because my Internet connection is terrible. No other complaints here though. I have one more week and Lisa arrives on Sunday. Sending hugs and hope you’re taking good care of yourself.

    • Hi there, I’m glad that you are have a nice time and that you have time left. How is plans going for moving there for good????? Are Lisa coming alone??? Thanks for the hugs … need them badly – because I have toothache again. Now it’s another tooth. When we are getting old .. we are getting very fragile and start falling apart. Big Weekend hug goes back to you. *smile

      • Living in the moment, Vivi, or trying to. 🙂 🙂 I can’t help but get my worry head on now and again. Early mornings usually, when I can’t get back to sleep. The cooker is broken and getting replacement parts is taking forever but I can use the hob. Lisa and Leo are both coming tomorrow evening so I shall have a meal ready, then we have a couple of days of touristing (no beach 😦 ) till they go home on Wednesday evening. Sending you sunshine and hugs, my falling apart lovely friend. 🙂

      • You’re so right! Let’s live today. I hope you will get your new cooker before you return to UK and I know you will have a great time … when the youth arrived. Be good to yourself first of all, Girlfriend.
        Yesterday I had sort of a clear out amongst my shoe boxes so I could get some new ones in. Took the whole day and I did a pretty good job, but I think I could have been more brutal. *laughing
        A warm Sunday hug.

  4. Pingback: WPC: Temporary | Lillie-Put

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Experimental | Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Experimental – Jinan Daily Photo: The Sequel

  7. Pingback: Weekly Daily Photo: Experimental | Here & Abroad

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Experimental | No Fixed Plans

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Experimental | Beijing Daily Photo 2

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Transformation | Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.