a piece of cake

“In Vienna the cafes is an extension of the living room.”
Unknown

wien rathaus

Vienna Coffee House Culture has it’s origins in the Siege of Vienna by Ottoman armies in 1683.

Most Viennese orders a Café Mélange and together with a fabulous cake. All coffee houses in Vienna I been to are massive. Don’t have a clue how Starbucks can survive in Vienna!!!???? They have two.

In all fairness I don’t have a clue how they can survive anywhere.

Wiener melange is a coffee drink, made popular in Viennese coffee houses, that primarily consists of coffee and milk, usually milk foam. This is similar to Italian cappuccino, though a milder coffee is often used for the Viennese version, which is also frequently served with a glass of water to drink along with the coffee. with the winter hat on

When I was a child and my grandma took me on a cafe treat she was always served a little glass of water with her coffee, but that disapeared ages ago here in Sweden.

There is so many famous cafes in Vienna, but I manage during my visit …. enjoyed my coffee at Café Central, Café Landtmann and  Café Tirolerhof.

Café Central
Herrengasse 14,
1010 Vienna, Austria
phone; 01 5333763

We went there for something to give us some warmth inside after a very wet visit to the Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt, about 10pm and it was fairly busy.

They say that Café Central a Viennese institution. It was first opened in 1876. A magnificent cafe with a bit frenetic piano player. The most beautiful decor. On the corner of Ecke Strauchgasse and Herrengasse.

Café Landtmann
Universitätsring 4,
1010 Vienna
phone; 01 24100100 (booking for breakfast necessary)

Beside the Burgtheater and opposite Vienna’s stunningly beautiful Rathaus. Also a Viennese Institution that was founded in 1873, when Franz Landtmann opened Vienna’s most elegant Café.

This legendary Café has been and continues to be one of the most popular in Vienna with regulars such as: Peter Altenberg, Sigmund Freud, Gustav Mahler, Max Reinhardt, Marlene Dietrich, Romy Schneider, Burt Lancaster, Hans Moser, the Dutch Queen Juliane, Hillary Rodham Clinton and Sir Paul Mc Cartney. Couldn’t tell if there was any famous people when I visit.

At Landtmann I met up with my blogging sister and friend, Dia@HappyFace313 – and we enjoyed a fantastic Vienna Breakfast with scramble eggs and even a little cake, that Dia suprised me with.

Extremely popular … not one free seat.

Café Tirolerhof
Führichgasse 8,
1010 Vienna
phone; 01 5127833
(no webiste)

Stopped here after our first walk about around the city center – and on our way to Hofburg ….. where my friend, Carol, has her free parking space. Perks that comes when working for UN.

We wanted something to hot and strong. I ordered a coffee with Amaretto and it was both hot and very strong. I think it was more Amaretto than coffee in my glass, but it boozed me up.

A traditional Vienna cafe, very busy – guests coming and going all the time.  It’s characterful, original and authentic.

logo - vk com

Images provided by vk.com

Most of the coffee I had in Vienna was from Julius Meinl – a premium and gourmet coffee. The Julius Meinl story begins in 1862 when Julius Meinl I. opened his first grocery store, selling spices and green coffee in the center of Vienna.

This is my first visit to Vienna, when I have enjoyed every cup of coffee that I was served. Maybe I gone to the wrong cafes before.

My last cake and coffee I had at Vienna International Airport – because I realized that I hadn’t have one piece of Apfelstrudel during my stay, so it was the last call. Can’t been to Austria without having delighted myself with a piece, it wasn’t one of the best I had …. but efficient enough. The coffee were excellent.a must

There was loads more calories during my stay …. a lot more!!!!! And more it will be next visit.

 

5 thoughts on “a piece of cake

  1. 🙂 This looks and sounds delicious!
    I try not to go too often into one of these lovely coffee houses, as I could always eat at least two pieces of cake…
    It was a real joy to have breakfast with you at Landtmann – thanks for the company!
    Looking forward to more (however, neither of us hit the jackpot – it apparently went to Portugal). Soon!
    Many hugs xo 🙂

    • I think Santa lives in Vienna, Dia …. thank you so much, the parcel arrived today … Love it all. You’re so generous. Have already tasted the marzipan. The best there is!!!!! Niederegger in Lübeck, last year I raided their store. *smile – Thank you so much … for the gifts and for your lovely company … time really flies away when you’re in the company. Had a fantastic time. And there is still time for the jackpot to land in Sweden or Austria. I’m sure it will happens.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.