tailor made geman support

I have been blogging about my “demons” from time to time, don’t want to do it too often, because it’s not that interesting reading. Don’t want to bore you to death – my demos is something I have to live with was something I was told 14 days ago when I did my quarterly checkups. News that I wasn’t completely happy about, I have struggled with my aftermaths for over nearly 2 years now and some of them has increased, but one has decreased.

Already the day after my operation I was told that my cancer had spread – Thomas, one of my senior doctor had done some tests on the lymph nodes they had remove from both side of my groin. Some of the women I met during me treatment knew how many lymph nodes they lost, they were talking about over 20 – I never asked, it would make any difference to me anyhow.

Thomas, told me that normally they do cluster sampling and send them away for closer analyzing – but because of his findings they would send all away and results will ready in 14 days.
14 days later he phoned me and told me that they had found a sister tumor in one of the lymph node, but that was the only one and he was sure that they had got everything out and the treatment will kill if there is anything left in the tissues.

About 12 months after I finished my treatment my right foot start to swell – to nearly 3 times its size, it became painful and I had problems to have shoes on. Especially when we had nearly 2mtr of snow that winter and I couldn’t get any boots on. They took my problem very seriously because there is a high risk for thrombosis under and after chemo treatments. So a couple of X-ray set that straight and they sent me off to the Lymphoedema clinic.

What happen is when they remove the lymph nodes the fluid get lost and when it’s not able to find a new way it stays where it’s – the fluid will only travel upwards in our legs – I thought it was the gravity that made the fluid end up in my feet. But it’s the opposite – it comes from the feet and can’t find a way up the leg so it’s stacked.

Since I had my first checkup regarding this problem – they measure both my legs 4 times per year. I get support tights that fits sort of my measures from a size chart. Not much has happen, when I was there in spring they made a decision that they will order tights (stay ups) after my legs own measures. My right leg is the one with the problem – I had 11% (11ltr) more fluid in that leg compare to the left.

Told them that there is no way I will ware a tight during the summer – so we made an agreement, that I would sleep with the tight – and so I have done … and since the weather has gone colder I wear the tight 24/7 except if I’m going to dress up.

At my last checkup – my leg had lost 1,7ltr of fluid – so today I have only 9.3% more fluid in my right. A massive decrease. So they decided to give me tailor made tights for both legs and wear them as I done the last 5 months. When I can 24/7 and otherwise only overnight. During the year I have worn the tights the procent of fluid in both my legs has gone up and down.

Got my parcel from Germany the other day – the tights must cost an fortune – the tights even have my name inside them – and they tell me witch one is for the right and left leg, because my legs have not the same measures. And they don’t cost me a cent.

One thing I must confess –  I love wearing them – they are so comfortable – and they give such a great support to my legs. Did an earlier post about “pretty support” – and I had never had a problem with them except during the summer. And with the heat during my visit to US and Canada in July, it had been impossible for me to wear them. Still it worked out brilliantly.
Don’t mind them now in the winter, because they are warm and so smooth.

As I said in my earlier post – if I knew how comfortable support stockings were – when I worked I would have used them for years, especially with all the hours I have spent standing up and running around in kitchens. I understand why airhostesses wear them. Also they will stop us women from getting varicose veins. In Sweden today we have to pay for removal of varicose veins ourselves – because they class it as beauty plastic surgery and it cost an arm and a leg. Thank God, I don’t have that too.

So this is a bit of sunshine in all my problems and I will today put my new stay ups on – with big problems the first couple of days, but after that – they will fit like gloves.

“He who cannot support himself,
can not take his own decision”
Gamal Abdel Nasser

My cloud of music is Marianne Rosenberg’s “Der einzige Mann” (The Only Man) – in the 70s I listen a lot to her and she was one of my favorite singers. Marianne is one of seven children from Auschwitz survivor Otto Rosenberg, who was a long-time advocate and representative of the Sinti and Roma people in Germany, a function which Marianne’s sister Petra later also undertook. During my engagement  with Hans-Jochim was there a lot of Marianne. She are still an active singer and songer writer – born 1955. I still love her voice.

Marianne’s photo provided by and thanks to; berlin-woman.de

25 thoughts on “tailor made geman support

  1. I can’t understand the language but I did enjoy the sound of the music and the sound of her voice in the soundcloud.

    I had to wear support hose when I had a blood clot. They did feel very good!

    • Colleen, that is the great thing about music … we don’t have to understand the words to enjoy a voice or a melody – I miss my tights when I don’t have them on. Especially now when it gets colder.

    • I think it’s all done to the support that we get – I have nothing bad to say about neither support or tights.
      It’s different if you have support tights because of heart failure or lymph fluid because of lost nodes.

  2. I usually can’t stand wearing stockings, but these sound like they are extremely comfortable, and they are also doing you a lot of good. They look stylish too.

    • Libby, I hate stockings too .. but this is a total different league. And it’s not enough with only trousers over here in the winter – they will keep my legs warm too.

      • Libby … so true, that’s why I chosen black for the winter – have bought a honey yellow shirt and top .. too – was thinking about them too. Will get an other pair of tights in light shade if this one fits me. Have to give it another week. So fare so good.

  3. Wow, this is some stuff you go through, Viveka. It also explains something I didn’t know before. My mom had a lymph node removed in her arm. I wonder if that’s why her foot swells sometimes? Interesting news. Also, my husband has horrific varicose veins. I wonder if there are tights for men that would be comfortable for him. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Lori, if it’s they removed in the arm .. it won’t end up in her foot. They are not connected as such – that lost fluid would have stayed in her arm. But it could be that here heart have problems pushing the fluid up the leg. She should examine her heart.

      Your husband should get tights for his varicose veins .. and he should talk to his doctor about it – if he has massive problems. If you have any other questions come back to me.

      • My husband hated wearing those tights, but I thought if they were more comfortable (like yours) he might wear them. Yes, my mom does have heart problems too. She has had surgery and is also on medication.

      • Then it’s the heart that can’t pump the lymph fluid – she should get support tights – but with a heart problem she can’t wear them at night. Only day time. She can get pills for the fluid, but the pills don’t drain the waste products like the salt in the fluid. Best thing is tights, maybe she only need knee length.
        Mine tights are made after my legs measures – sure he can get that too – still I think he will hate them as a man.

    • Frank … I have a positive spirit – but sometimes it run and hide for a couple of hours or day. *smile … have to take things with humor. Thank you so much for your support and always so kind words … I have sent you an email, by the way.

  4. I always look forward to fall and tights.. they make me feel so “tucked in”.. no tummy hanging around with those on, lol! I don’t think wearing them at night would be fun, though. You are so brave and positive in your outlook, I admire that!

    • I’m sure you husband would love you in sexy stay ups and even high heels when you go to bed *smile – Barbara I wouldn’t call myself brave, I only have to choice accept it or moan about it. I moan too at days. And when I talk to my doctors I often start to cry, because it gets to me at times with all the problems, it’s not one .. its 4 in total and they all shrink my quality of life and woman. Now I had a good moan. *smile

  5. Dear Viveka, you have a lot on your plate and I think you are so very positive in all that is happening to you that I believe you are helping many people. I wish you the very, very best! – When I was a teen, Marianne Rosenberg’s music was really big – “Marleen”, “Er gehört zu mir…” and so on. If played today, I still sing along (not pretty) loud and from the bottom of my heart. She is such a wonderful musician, I wouldn’t want to miss her music! 🙂 Have a wonderful week! 🙂 and a big hug 🙂

    • I just love her, “Marleen” is probably her biggest hit “Er gehört zu mir…” massive hit too.
      My all time favorite is “Ich Brauche Dich” – You Needed Me. Had so many LP with her .. don’t have a clue where they are now .. and that was one of the tracks, can’t find it online for download – want it free of course.
      It’s so old I don’t to pay for it. *smile
      Brilliant singer … and she are still going strong .. and very active. Looking so good those days – she are a very short person. How intriguing this was with us like the same old songs. Love it.

  6. I hope you continue to the get the results/relief you need from these support hose. Like you, I don’t mind wearing things like this…as long as I can still breathe and it is not over 80 degrees F. I hope your next check ups will be good ones and that you will continue to lose the fluid in that right leg. Stay positive!

    • I don’t think I will be able to loose so much more in my right leg, but the left … The thing is I don’t think I will be free from them and I wish that was the case, even I I like wearing them. Thanks for your support.

    • I don’t think I will be able to loose so much more in my right leg, but the left … The thing is I don’t think I will be free from them and I wish that was the case, even I I like wearing them. Thanks for your support.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.