after years of searching ….

“Opera is when a tenor and soprano want to make love,
but are prevented from doing so by a baritone.”
Unkown

and today did I find the song I only heard once and it was about 20 years ago.

@.elibron.com

Since I  lived in Brighton and my neighbours were burgled (I was saved that time), I always had a little radio in my hall … that I put on when I leave home, even if it’s only for an hour. A tip a Brighton police officer gave me. Something sticks with me.

The only time I have heard this song was as I was going to leave my apartment for a couple of hours … and as I was getting ready they played this song – and I missed all introduction …. but I picked up that it was something about Moses and him being found in the reed.

@alaraby.co.uk

So that is what I been looking for …  but I have been totally wrong – it’s the ending … when he is going to cross the Red Sea. The pray before crossing.

The title is “Dal Tuo Stellato Soglio” (From Your Starlit Dream) and from the opera “Mosè in Egitto”.

“Mosè in Egitto” (Moses in Egypt) is a three-act opera written by Gioachino Rossini to an Italian libretto by Andrea Leone Tottola, which was based on a 1760 play by Francesco Ringhieri, L’Osiride. It premièred in March 1818 at the recently reconstructed Teatro San Carlo in Naples, Italy.

Rossini’s operas are often very comical.

Csaba Airizer@youtube.com

It’s Hungarian State Opera House Symphony Orchestra conducted by Lamberto Gardelli performing here and singers:

Mosé – Csaba Airizer
Elisero – Andrej Lantsov
Anaìde – Márta Szűcs
Maria – Ildikó Tas

So today during my homework (cleaning) this has been played over and over again. I probably have driving my neighbors mental.

This is pure pleasure for me … and sometimes happiness is to be find in a beautiful song. Not really an opera fan, but there is there is so beautiful music to be find in opera music. Verdi is probably my favorite opera composer. But I love Georges Bizet’s “Carmen” and “Madama Butterfly” by Giacomo Puccini, those two I can see and enjoy time after time.

I just have to share my joy! I hope you found it beautiful as I do. Enjoy!

“Dal tuo stellato soglio,
Signor, ti volgi a noi!
Pietà de’ figli tuoi!
Del popol tuo pietà!
Pietà de’ figli tuoi!
Del popol tuo pietà!

Se pronti al tuo potere
Sono elementi, e sfere,
Tu amico scampo addita
Al dubbio, errante piè!
Pietoso Dio! ne aìta’:
Noi non viviam, che in Te!

In questo cor dolente
deh, scendi, o Dio clemente,
e farmaco soave
tu sia di pace almen!
Il nostro cor che pena
deh! tu confronta almen!”

9 thoughts on “after years of searching ….

Leave a Reply

