7 flowers … under the pillow

It’s Midsummer next weekend (23-25.06) … and that is probably the biggest holiday we have here in Sweden … the whole country are partying for 3 days … and loads of problem comes from that. More or less the whole nation is suffering from some kind of hangover .. on Monday.

We eat pickled herring … and new potatoes …. we drink everything, but mostly ice cold nubbe ( shots of vodka and far too much of it too)  … fresh strawberries  … and then we dance around the maypole and act very silly and some us act stupid too.

Our emergency service is on high alter the whole weekend and they are always overworked and underpaid. A lot of problems comes with the drinking. 

For some good advice watch the video …. and of course should you visit Sweden at Midsummer – one of the MUSTS if you’re a real Globetrotter.

By tradition should if a single girl pick 7 flowers from 7 different fields, one from each field … under silence – we know how hard it’s for us girls to be quiet –  and put the flowers under her pillow and she will dream about her husband to be.

I think it will work a lot better if we pick 7 men and put them under the pillow and dream about flowers instead.

Midsummer is the only holiday that really made me homesick while living abroad …. I have never really celebrated it, but it’s such Swedish thing. My blue & yellow heart was crying of longing every year. 

I will be in Porto for Midsummer this year … so I have picked my 7 flowers together with Oscar yesterday instead … one from 7 parks here in Landskrona (12 parks we have in total).

“Alcohol may be man’s worst enemy,
but the bible says love your enemy.”
Frank Sinatra

38 thoughts on “7 flowers … under the pillow

      • Do you …. !!! How nice, I think you will take it a bit easier than what we do over here. Do you celebrate Lucia too????

    • Thank you, Jo …. I’m so looking forward to this trip .. because the Swedish summer doesn’t know if it’s coming or going. Very excited.

      • Same here! We weren’t going back to the Algarve till October but tonight we booked a week there in July for Mick’s birthday. Have a fabulous time xx

      • Algarve in October, maybe I should look at Faro then … good for you that you spend more time there. I know how much you love it.

      • We’re in Tavira for 5 weeks from 11th October and James is visiting with his lady for the half term week, from 22nd 🙂 Thursday you’re going? Woo Hoo! 🙂 🙂

      • I have been looking at flights … a bit expensive, but loads of nice hotels .. to reasonable prices. Yes, Thursday lunch!!!! Ironing hugs ..

  1. I like the line – pick seven men put under the pillow… Wow, sounds like you’re going to have a blast. When I was a kid, we had some tradition on the 7th day of the 7th month in Lunar calendar, when they girls look at the moon, they will see their future guys!

    • Much easier to look at the moon … then be silent and jump over fences to pick flowers. I like that tradition. To be honest I couldn’t handle 7 men under the pillow … I probably can’t handle one. *laughing.

    • That is such an awesome tradition! Do you mind if I ask where it’s from?

      Viveka, didn’t mean to be rude and replying to someone else on my first post. Two things, couldn’t remember about how many flowers, and found your post too late. 😀 Beautiful pictures, but the one of the swan really is my favorite.

      • Hi there, it’s a Swedish tradition. 7 different flowers from 7 different meadows of fields. There is nothing rude about your comment … I find it lovely. *smile

      • Thanks. Sorry, but I also meant Miriam with the seventh day of the seventh month. Wasn’t the flower gathering also mentioned in Astrid Lindgren’s Bullerby books? Hope I spelled that somewhat right? Because I swear I heard of that already as a kid.

      • I’m sure she forgives you … I’m sure Astrid Lindgren has written about the Swedish Midsummer in her books. I have only read the Pippi books. *smile

      • I used to read them all the time because my mom had read them and passed them on to me. Ditto Anne of Green Gables. I loved Pippi! Btw, I lived in Finland for nine years and somehow never made it to Sweden, so I’d always joke with my Swedish friends that Sweden was this magical, mystical country, which may or may not exist. 🙂 One day!

        Thanks for saying that about the sweet comment later. Me being in a really bad mood tonight obviously didn’t see it until just now. 🙂

      • Hi Helsinki, that was an old Chinese tradition that I practice when I was a kid in Hong Kong! I don’t think it is a practice any more! Thank you for asking!

Leave a Reply

