at least once a month – mint and lemon glazed lamb chops

Still working through my overloaded freezer … this is a dish I do a couple of times per month the whole year around. Lamb is without a doubt my favourite meat.  I eat it in all forms, style and shape.

Maybe there is a little bit of time in the preparation – of the salad (that is original a cold salad) and the glaze for the lamb chops, about 15-20 min all depending on how good you’re with a knife. When that preparation is done – it’s a very quick fix dish. 

I was told many years ago by one of my mentors that lamb should have room temperature when going to be cooked and it’s also the only meat that should be seasoning before seal it … and I still work after those norms.

The ingredients for the salad I do a couple of hours before dinner – and put it everything into a strainer so it gives a chance to drain because the ingredients contain quite a bit of fluid,  expect the oil, couscous and lemon juice. 

Mint and Lemon Glazed Lamb Chops on Warm Tabbouleh Salad, serves 4
12-16 lamb chops (used frozen)
60ml (4tbsp) olive oil
30 ml (2 tbsp) mint jelly
10 ml (2 tsp) lemon juice + finely grated zest of 1 big lemon
5 ml (1tsp) ground cumin
2 garlic cloves, crushed
30ml (2 tbsp) chopped fresh mixed Italian or Mediterranean herbs – I used frozen cube (Findus)
salt and freshly ground black pepper.

  1. Melt the mint jelly in the olive oil on the stove. DON’T add the garlic or lemon juice + zest while the mint oil is still hot because the flavour can go very bitter.
  2. Seasoning the lamb chops
  3. Mix in the last ingredients to the mint oil and make sure it’s well mixed … then brush generously with the glaze on the chops and let rest for about 20 min, at room temperature.
  4. You can pan fry or grill the chops to your own liking. I pan fried mine. The delicious jus from the frying pan I pour over the chops when plated. 

The ingredients for the salad I do a couple of hours before dinner – and put it everything into a strainer expect the oil, couscous and lemon juice.

Cook the couscous to instructions – make sure it rest off heat for about 5-8 min, put back on the stove to quickly reheat before adding all drained ingredients, olive oil and lemon juice. Seasoning to liking. That is it. Finish of with chopped fresh mint (used frozen).

I always eat Tzatziki to lamb at home, but I buy it ready made. To stand and do Tzatiziki for only one portion isn’t worth the afford.

Here is the link to my recipe for the salad: warsaw flashback – tabbouleh with spicy oven baked salmon

I got loads of sunshine on my plate, but it was far too windy and cold to be enjoying my dinner on the balcony. Don’t have a clue what has happened to the summer.???!!!!!

“I fooled around with a lamb chop for a while,
but decided I wasn’t really very hungry after all.”
Unknown

13 thoughts on “at least once a month – mint and lemon glazed lamb chops

Leave a Reply

