only one fresh ingredients dinner – seared salmon with spinach

Sweden has the highest rate of single living people in the world and still there is no food packaging done for single households, that means that most of the time we have to buy for two … but most of them all package of fresh products comes for 4.

That means that my freezer most of the time is filled to the rim and a couple of times per year I have to concentrate on using what I have at home. I use frozen products a couple of days a week, but then I buy something fresh I fancy and it starts filling up again.

So on today I had a good look through the freezer and decided to do a bit ” magic” of what I had at home.

Found some frozen whole spinach .. don’t have a clue why I have bought that … because I use always fresh.  Don’t have clue how long I had it neither, quite a while I guess because it looked a bit freeze damaged. Frozen salmon I always have at home, easy to do something with short notice for dinner guests and also I buy a whole side whenever there is an offer on.

So the only fresh ingredient I used for this dish is the red onion, something I always have to home .. eat it every morning on my breakfast sandwich.

The fresh spinach can pre-wilted before add it to the noodles. The easiest way to do that is to toss the once washed in a hot, dry pan. Stop just before it has wilted as it will continue to cook even off the heat.

The same with the salmon – take it off the heat before it’s cooked through because salmon also continue cooking off the heat and you don’t want it dry. Personal I prefer my salmon slightly pink. I have to admit that I slightly undercooked my salmon, could have got a couple of more minutes. No problem for me as a Swede – we eat fish half-raw. 

Seared Salmon with Spinach and Soy Stir-fried Noodles, serves 2
Total time 20 min.

200g (7oz) medium noodles
30ml (2 tbsp) oil
2 salmon filets
1 red onion, very finely sliced
30 ml (2 tbsp) soy sauce
200 gr (7oz) fresh spinach (use frozen and that meant I didn’t have to wilt it)
salt and fresh ground black pepper (I also used some ground nutmeg – goes well with spinach)

15ml (1tbsp) lemon juice
dill – finely chopped (used frozen)

some sesame oil for noodles
toasted sesame seeds

  1. Cook the noodles according to the pack instructions, then cool under running water. Toss through with a small amount of sesame oil and set aside.
  2. Heat the frying pan until smoking hot, then add half of the oil. Season the salmon and cook for about 5 min on each side. Only turn the salmon once and reducing the heat when the salmon has got the golden colour.
  3. While the salmon is cooking, heat up the wok or generous frying pan, add the remaining oil When very hot add the red onion and fry for a minute and so, before adding the noodles and the soy sauce. Fry about 2 min. and add the spinach and let it wilt. The finish of some lemon juice.

For serving divide the noodles in the pre-heated semi deep plate and scatter toasted sesame seeds over – top with the salmon and chopped dill and with a grilled lemon wedge.

This is a real “quick fix” dinner – I think it took me total 15 min.

Consider that red onion was the only fresh ingredients in this dish – it came out great and I can image when I do it with fresh ingredients next time it will a lot better. But for me eating alone on a Thursday evening – it became a very enjoyable dish and I got a lot of sunshine on my plate.

“Kissing don’t last: cookery do.”
George Meredith

11 thoughts on “only one fresh ingredients dinner – seared salmon with spinach

  1. Sounds fabulous! 🙂 I shall ‘bank’ this one for later.
    Are you away from home this weekend? Bank Hol here so sure to get the rain forecast. Take good care. Sunny hugs! 🙂 🙂

    • It’s working then … today I had porridge for dinner, too warm to cook. Have changed wardrobe today – what a carry on that was. All set for summer now. TV hugs!

Leave a Reply

