the first summer salad – pasta spinach salad with chicken.

“You don’t win friends with salad.”
Homer Simpson

This is a recipe that I found on FB last year already, but haven’t come around to try. So today I have been tied up with the laundry … there was time to try it and for the first time have my dinner on the balcony. We had a really hot summer day today. On my balcony, it was +27C/+80F when it was time to enjoy the salad, a bit too hot for dining comfort.

The original recipe doesn’t have any protein, but that will be too light for me. This salad will be perfect with prawns, salmon or grilled goat cheese. 

Personal I always pick the stalks of the spinach – even on baby spinach. I don’t like the stalks – so woody. Plus that I use only cold ingredients (even the pasta and chicken), but used the dressing warm. 

Pasta Spinach Salad with Panfried Chicken and Warm Teriyaki dressing – serves 4
(about 15-20 min in total)

450 gr/ 1 pound chicken fillets, halved
225 gr/ 8oz bowtie pasta
125 gr/ 4 oz can mandarin oranges, dried – which I don’t like, I used instead fresh 4 oranges cut in wedges (a bit messy, but so worth it )
120 gr/ 4 cups of fresh baby spinach
75 gr/ 0,5 cup of raisins
45 gr/ 1/3 cup pine nuts (don’t have to be toasted)
15 gr/ 1/4 cup of cilantro, roughly chopped (used frozen)

Dressing:
75 ml / 5 tbsp teriyaki sauce (the thicker, the better)
75 ml/ 5 tbsp rice wine vinegar
75 ml/ 5 tbsp oil (vegetable, canola or olive)
1 garlic clove, crushed
15ml / 1 tbsp sugar
seasoning with salt and black pepper.

Garnish; toasted sesame seeds.

  1. Do the dressing first and store chilled until usage. I made mine after breakfast.
  2. Cook pasta according to package instructions, drain and rinse with cold water.
  3. While cooking the pasta pan-fry the chicken pieces – I always fry chicken in a combination of butter and rapeseed oil. Only seasoning with freshly ground rock salt and black pepper.
  4. In a large bowl toss together all ingredients,  except the chicken and the orange wedges.
  5. Heat up the dressing on the after heat from the pasta cooking (don’t let the dressing boil) and mix half of the dressing with the mixed ingredients. Be careful so the salad isn’t getting soaked in the dressing .. add a bit at the time.
  6. Divide the salad among 4 serving bowls – arrange the orange wedges and pile the chicken pieces on top (6 per portion), scatter the toasted sesame seed over and pour the remaining dressing over the chicken pieces. 

It is a quick fix lunch or dinner dish. This is a great summer salad … with loads of colour and flavours. And I manage to get the sunshine into the salad bowl too.

So now it’s official summer in my 2017.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “the first summer salad – pasta spinach salad with chicken.

  1. Sounds very tasty, Vivi! And I agree that you needed some protein, and to get rid of the spinach stalks! You can make this when I come over! 😉

    • Thank you, Dia …. I wish the same, the summer seems to stay with us … over the weekend. My travel has changed … no Vienna in August. Please, email. Evening hug.

Leave a Reply

