exquisite beauty and joy

“The orchid is Mother Nature’s masterpiece.”
Robyn

I totally agree with Robyn, whoever that maybe. I think the orchids are the flower of all flowers, even if it maybe isn’t my favourite flower I always have a couple at home all the time, they last so much longer than cut fresh flowers. 

So now I take you back to Keukenhof Gardens in Lisse, outside Amsterdam. They have a pavilion that is named after their Queen Beatrix, Paviljoen Beatrix,  that is filled with orchids in the most fantastic colours, forms and shapes.  It’s the largest in Europe, in which many Dutch orchid growers exhibit their most beautiful plants. A spectacular show!!!

My favourite orchid is the white Phalaenopsis, which is probably the most popular one in Sweden. But I made new acquaintances at Keukenhof, that really made my heart sing. What an eye candy.

There are 105 orchid families in the world. The Vanilla family has been around for estimated at 60 to 70 million years. There was in 2011  there were 26,567accepted orchid species. We have 52 in Sweden. 

I’m not any expert on orchids and I don’t know really how to take care of them, but I manage to make the re-bloom … this winter I had 4 blooming at the same time.

I don’t know how many spices they have at Keukenhof, but I returned home with 50 images of different flowers … some was a bit blurry. There was also a bit a fashion display, bridal and shoes.

They are also displaying another of my favourite flowers in the same pavilion, Anthurium (we call it Flamingo).Is a genus of about 1000 species of flowering plants. In 1860 there were 183 species known to science, and Heinrich Wilhelm Schott defined them in 28 sections in the book Prodromus Systematis Aroidearum.

Anthurium is also a flower that I always have in my home. A magnificent plant that lasts forever  … maybe not for me, but it will take me a couple of months before I killed it. The orchid and flamingo probably will have the same lifespan in my hands.

Somebody has said that flowers are mother nature’s laughter … how true isn’t that.

11 thoughts on “exquisite beauty and joy

  1. Wow! Stunning display of orchid heaven. I have one that graces our abode. Such an elegant flower. Loved viewing the varieties you captured. Beautiful post, Viveka. ❤

  2. What an array, so beautifully photographed. One of my greatest joys is finding far more modest native orchids in the bush – 25 species on or near J’s 30 acres. More modest in size, but equally splendid up close. And at least in the bush, I don’t have to keep them alive!

    • Meg, I have seen native orchids once on Island of Map or Jap (the names I remember) . They were “sitting” on other tree’s branches in always in the shade. The best way for them to be. Lucky you that can hunt orchids.

    • Yes, shocking is the right word. Thank you so much for stopping by and for the comment. It’s an elegant and graceful flower with such a beauty. I don’t know how many plants they have in their pavilion, it must be around 1000. Loads of eye candy. *smile

Leave a Reply

