get to know amsterdam by numbers

There is more to Amsterdam than what the senses take in. There is a load of numbers … when it comes to Amsterdam and I hope the numbers I will give you will give you a picture of a very exciting and fun, vibrant and colourful city with a massive amount of hospitality and history.

1.

There is one “Poezenboot” … a houseboat full of stray cats in Amsterdam. As the only one of its kind in the world, this boat full of stray and abandoned cats is run by volunteers in the canal just west of Central Station. We didn’t meet one stray cat.

2:

Amsterdam is ranked to be the world’s 2nd best city to live in.

3:

That’s the number of Xs in Amsterdam’s coat of arms. The XXX on the city’s coat of arms. dMost historians say they represent crosses of Saint Andrew. St. Andrew was a fisherman who was martyred on an X-shaped cross in the 1st century. Amsterdam was originally a fishing village, so there you have it. Or it could symbolise the three kisses that Dutch people give when greeting.

4:

That’s the number of meters Schiphol, Amsterdam’s airport sits below sea level. If sea levels rise, maybe the airport has to become a shipping port. The oldest airport in the world first plane landed 1916.

23:

There is Rembrandt paintings to enjoy plus the most famous one, the Nightwatch in the Rijksmuseum

165:

The number of canals in Amsterdam. In total, these waterways add up to more than 100 kilometres or about 60 miles.

180:

The number of nationalities living in the city – just behind New York and London. Amsterdam is one of the most tolerant cities in the world. 

183:

That’s the number of coffeeshops in Amsterdam. In light of the introduction of the distance criteria, the expectation is that this number will decrease to 155 coffeeshops in 2016. Coffeeshops are alcohol-free establishments where soft drugs are sold and consumed. You are allowed to buy up to 5 grams of cannabis (marijuana or hash) and that will keep you high a couple of days.

216;

Trams in the city. Most of them are always in your way when you’d like to cross the road and most of them never seem to come when you have to catch one.

500:

The number of “sex shopping ” windows in Amsterdam, next to brothels etc. Daily, about 1,000 prostitutes are working in Amsterdam and in a given year, the city sees about 8,000 different prostitutes. Amsterdam has one of the most famous Red Light Districts in the world with window prostitution.

1,150;

The number restaurants and we manage to visit a couple – excellent food and service.

1,281:

That’s the number of bridges in all of Amsterdam. There are 80 bridges within the center of Amsterdam. Magere Brug, also known as the Skinny Bridge, is the most famous bridge in the city.

1,515:

That’s the number of bars and cafes in Amsterdam. Wow! That’s a lot of pouring of Heineken.

3,050:

That’s is the number of houseboats in Amsterdam — anything from small, simple structures to custom-built, multi-story floating homes, as well as converted commercial vessels, many have been afloat for more than a century.

6,800:

There are an approximate number of old 16th, 17th and 18th-century buildings in town, some of them currently serve as museums.

7,800:

Official bike parking places near Amsterdam Central Station, but more than 8,200 bicycles are typically parked there.

16,000;

Amsterdam delight people with concerts and theatrical performances per year.

25,000:

Bicycles that end up in Amsterdam’s canals each year.1 2 000 to 15 000 bicycles are pulled out of Amsterdam canals every year. Many of these bikes fall into the canals during common periods of gusty winds.

26,000:

The number of dogs in Amsterdam and I think we met most of them.

52,184:

The number of hotel beds – Amsterdam is in my book one of the most expensive European capitals when it comes to the price of a hotel pillow. We stayed at a B&B.

53,000:

Besides all the bikes there is also scooters to keep an eye on – they seem to be allowed to use the bicycle lanes.

263,000:

Is the number of cars – and electric cars seem to has become popular.

881,000:

The approximately the number of bicycles in Amsterdam. But there are only about 799,400 people living in the city. Some estimates say around 100,000 bicycles are stolen each year. 63% of Amsterdammers use their bike on a daily basis.

11,000,000:

That’s the approximate number of wooden poles that support Amsterdam’s buildings. All of the structures in the city are supported by 15 to 20-meter long wood poles that sink through the mud and are fixed in a sandy layer that is 11 meters deep on average. A typical house has around 10 wooden poles keeping it out of the muck, but Centraal Station is supported by nearly 9,000 houten palen. Amsterdam is quite the pole dancer! 

Now we come to the biggest number facts about the Netherlands.

1.3 billion

Approximately 1.3 billion litres of beer are exported each year, and the number is growing. The Netherlands is the world’s biggest exporter of beer. Twice as much beer is exported from the Netherlands than the United States, the second biggest exporter. 

2 billion:

In 2014 tulips were exported worldwide and 1.1 billion lilies were shipped throughout the world. 300 countries import flowers from ther Netherlands. 300 countries import flowers from the Netherlands. 

“Amsterdam is a lot like the Tour de France.
It’s just a lot of people on drugs riding bikes.”
Unknown

I want to give a HEARTY thank you to all the web-sites and blogs that have helped me with all the numbers and facts – without your information, this post wouldn’t be possible:

http://awesomeamsterdam.com – https://storyv.com – https://www.amsterdamtourist.info – http://www.iamsterdam.com/en/- https://www.schiphol.nl – http://amsterdamfaq.com – http://www.amsterdam-advisor.com

 

23 thoughts on “get to know amsterdam by numbers

  1. 🙂 Thank you for your postcard from Amsterdam. I really enjoyed it, especially since I used to go there quite often. It’s such a nice city and I remember going for “bitterballen en lekker biertje” before dinner regularly. Of course I like poffertjes, too. Yum!
    And the littel “muisjes” the pink and white anis seed sugary things that go on your toast. Gosh, I miss Amsterdam.
    Glad you enjoyed it!
    Duvet hug and sleep well xo 🙂

    • I’m glad you got the card …!!!! Wow, I have loads to try for the next visit. And you remember how to spell dutch … too.
      I know the cookies, but I have never tried one. Poffertjes are SOOOoOooOOooo good. With all the sugar and butter .. and some syrup on top. Amsterdam is really a fun city. We had a brilliant time. I wish you a pleasant new week … Duvet hug from me too. I will only take some ice cream first. Dream carefully, Dia!

    • Meg …. It could have been me, but I stole that joke!!!! I think it’s brilliant. I hope they forgive me. Sorry for making you disappointed.

      • Yes, Colleen … but they aren’t well behaved bikers in Amsterdam .. the speed they are coming in. Here in Landskrona every 4th person use their bike daily. We are in the top in Sweden. Sweden is number 4 in the world and of course Netherlands are number 1.
        I have nothing against bikes … but a lot against bikes that don’t think they have to follow any traffic rules or make up their own. Massive problem here in Landskrona.

      • It’s okay if it only was a couple but it’s truly 95% of them .. that makes up their own rules. They never use the bell, so you don’t hear them coming behind you and we have shared bike/pedestrian lanes They never stop and get off the bikes in intersections – just cycles on before anyone else.

      • Colleen, so many time I walked back from the supermarket and taken a step to side without knowing there is a bike behind me … then they scream at me instead using bell or saying “I’m behind you” – been a close call a couple of time. My heart just stops. But there is many great responsible bikers too.

      • Well I know what it’s like to have someone come up behind you like that, it is scary. I always say “on your left” or “coming up behind you” because I don’t want to do that. Someone came up on me last week while I was riding and didn’t warn me….he’s lucky I didn’t throw my arm out by instinct and knock him out. 😉 Not that I would have. But it’s a nice thought. 😉

      • I wish you had. It’s so scary … when it happens.!!! Still biking is a great way to get round. Today we have fantastic …for biking, but it’s not very warm. Have to get my bike down to the repair shop, it has a flat tire again and I will also buy a gel saddle cover, but my bum has been so sore for nearly 4 months now.

  2. I love the 2,500 bikes dumped into the water and 1,500 got pulled out. Thanks for all the numbers. It’s mind boggling. I’m glad we were not thinking about numbers when we were there, just take in as much as we could!!

  3. What an assault on the senses! 🙂 🙂 My head is spinning like that windmill in old Amsterdam. 🙂 ‘I saw a mouse! Where? There on the stairs, right there…’ My early morning coffee must have gone to my head, Vivi. 🙂

Leave a Reply

