walkabouts in marrakech (loads of images)

I did a lot of walking during my days in Marrakech.. the only place I didn’t to my walkabouts was in the souks. Mostly because I didn’t want to be attacked by sellers … and I was also a little afraid of getting lost. There were no really “landmarks” to has as orienteering.  Too many shops selling the same thing in every “alley” and not many signage to remember the trail with.

But I did walk straight into the souks and hold a straight course and then walked out again. Have been told that 100.000 people work in the souks .. then you can image how many shops there is.  Historically the souks of Marrakesh were divided into retail areas for particular goods such as leather, carpets, metalwork and pottery. These divisions still roughly exist but with significant overlap.

This gallery all from my walkabouts … street life, which is very intense in the Medina. Things that cached my eyes … and that Oscar liked too. Load of lovely cats, kittens and adults. They took their place, just like in Istanbul. I didn’t mind. They seem to enjoy life so much as I did.

Nearly no dogs around, not seen like a clean animal in Islam. So the few ones I saw was all on a leash and off smaller models.

Loads of mopeds driving like mad in the narrow street and what I understand that they have a problem with all the mopeds because they are not of newer models and the pollution they create is massive for Marrakesh, that wants to be a green city. In the early evening if you look over the rooftops of Medina you can see the smoke. For me, it was more of a wonder that nobody got hurt, but talking to people I understand it happens very often.

Outside the Medina wall is the modern Marrakech and there the traffic is great and they use a lot of traffic police. Wide streets and proper payments, traffic lights and roundabouts. Inside the wall forget any traffic rules … everything and anything goes – and at the same time.

One day I ended up on a farmer market in the beginning of the souks and there is also one a block away from my riad. The problem is with taking pictures on the markets with local people …  is that they don’t want to be in the pictures, some do it for money. The farmer markets are very narrow, crowded and very frenetic. And the locals aren’t really happy about that you are in their way.

“Me thinks that the moment my legs begin to move,
my thoughts begin to flow.”
Henry David Thoreau

14 thoughts on “walkabouts in marrakech (loads of images)

    • Yes, the carrot … was just laying there as I coming back from my day out .. just outside where I was staying. Should have picked up and given it to the donkey .. really. My pleasure, Meg .. we had spring sun for 2 days.
      Love it.

  1. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Dizzying heights! | restlessjo

Leave a Reply

