weekly photo challenge – graceful

theballerina

For me, ballet is one of the most graceful things …. but so hard to capture – so I have to use one of my favorite paintings, by the Danish painter Grena Wegener.

“The Ballerina Ulla Poulsen in the Ballet Chopiniana, Paris” from 1927. To be able to finish the painting in time .. she asked her husband Einar to put a stocking and ballet shoe on one of his legs and hold the ballerina dress in front of him. One of the strongest scenes from the movie “The Danish Girl”. The image was taken at  Arken Museum of Modern Art, Denmark in March 2016.

… and a pair of ballet shoes and two tulle dresses that I saw in a shop window in Stockholm a couple of years ago. And image from 2015 Vienna New Year’s Concert taken off my TV’s screen.

In May will I enjoy and delight myself with the “Swan Lake” at Malmö Opera …. my favorite ballet – the music cloud I have chosen for this post – is music from the ballet “Giselle”, music by Adolphe Adam that was premiered in Paris June 1841 and it was also the first ballet I saw alive in 1968, 20 years old.

I wish you a lovely weekend.

“Ballet is like dreaming on your feet.”
Unknown

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/graceful/

29 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge – graceful

  1. Pingback: Graceful: Light Fitting | What's (in) the picture?

    • My first thought was swans …. but I knew that so many would chose them and also flowers. Thanks for your lovely comment .. I only wish I had a photo of real ballet dancers, maybe in May.

  2. How’s the cold? I’m sniffling and slurping red wine. Not at all graceful 😦 Sending hugs from a great distance so they should be germ free when they arrive. 🙂 🙂

    • Not very graceful in my end neither, but I was out and about in the sunshine yesterday, but not feeling great today. My head feels like stone. Any hugs are welcome here. *smile

      • Just watched Rafa play 5 sets of tennis, starting at 5 this morning and I’m exhausted. 🙂 Wonder why? James’ birthday on Monday so I need to stir myself for some presents a bit later. Grey and damp is not encouraging. The hugs will be lethal. Sorry! 😦

      • Finally found time to play your CD! I was leaping about to Little Richard and Justin Timberlake and it started another coughing fit. 😦 Thank you so much! There are a couple of tracks I don’t know but none I don’t like. Hugs, sweetheart! Hope your cold is mending. Slow progress, I suspect 😦

      • I just back from the hospital … been visiting my mentally ill friend and I bought cough lozenges made from thyme and herbs … only taken one tablet and haven’t cough since. Wonderful. Glad that you like the CD .. and I don’t mind if you don’t like some of them. Hard to put music together that will fit so many as possible. *smile

  3. A lovely take on “graceful”. I’ll be looking up that artist, about whom you tell a great story. To my great disappointment I missed a ballet performance here of a non-traditional ballet, for which I’d had a ticket for ages. Enjoy “Swan Lake”.

    • Meg, thank you so much …. sorry to read that you miss the performance. You should watch the film about Grena Wegener .. I don’t think it was a such a marvellous film that everybody was screaming about … but the actors are brilliant – especially the Swedish actress that plays Grena … the story is very bittersweet. Alicia Vikander got an Oscar for her role. Nice film to spend some rainy hours with.
      I’m sure I will enjoy the “Swan Lake” – don’t know how many times I seen it. *smile

  4. Yes it is hard to capture such gracefulness, but harder to be so graceful when ballet is so demanding. This is the true art, to make it look effortless. What I aspire to 💗

    • Thank you so much … I have seen Swan Lake before but last time is about 20 years ago. So looking forward to it. I see you’re a dancer … tough job, but what a way to be able to express yourself. I’m sure that the Swan Lake performance will be coming your way. Thanks for the visit and for taking the the time .. to comment. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

