sweet dreams and green tea – riad yasmine, marrakesh

If you click on this logo it will take you to other pillows I slept on.

If you click on this logo it will take you to other pillows I slept on.

From the moment I stepped into Riad Yasmine to the moment I left I felt at home and was so well taken care off. Even if I arrived a couple of hours before check-in time, my room was ready in a couple of minutes.

I stayed in room #2, a big comfortable room on the ground floor just by the beautiful pool. 30 sq meters of comfort and colours.welcome

Riad stood in the old days … for a wealthy family normally with two or more storeys house or palace around an Andalusian-style courtyard that contained a fountain plus with a roof terrace. Or as Wikipedia tells us “A riad is a traditional Moroccan house or palace with an interior garden or courtyard.”ceiling

My trip to Marrakesh I booked through Expedia –  flight and accommodation package. I picked Riad Yasmine because of the photos, information and reviews. And the reality was even better, a perfect balance between modern comfort and tradition design.riad-steps

Riad Yasmine
209 Rue Ank Jemel, Bab Taghzout
Medina / Marrakech – 40000 MAROC
Phone : +212(0) 524 377 012

7 rooms: 90-125 Euros (4* in my book)

Riad Yasmine runs by Frenchmen Gabriel, his lovely wife Alice and their house cat, Bowie plus their 5 staff members. The riad is owned by Gabriel’s father, but since a little more year ago it’s their paradise and they have transformed into a light and very pleasant sanctuary that is filled with smiles, great hospitality and excellent comfort.famous-pool

It’s not situated directly in the melting pot of Medina, the old town, but with short walking distance to everything of interest and the Souks, but this little hidden gem is located behind a brown door on a madly busy street. So you have to look in both directions when you step out. There are no traffic rules in Medina .. everybody drives at the same time and overtake on both sides. So be careful.raid-door

All staff are so helpful and can’t do enough for you .. and everything is delivered with a genuine smile and big friendliness. Plus they offer their guests’ complimentary green tea with fresh mint.first-floor-1

Riad Yasmine has never been a private home, it was built as a hotel and that is why the rooms are so big … instead of a fountain, they have a small beautiful pool in the middle of the courtyard.by-the-pool

I was told by an American couple that I met during my first dinner that Riad Yasmine has the most famous pool in town. There are about 1000 riads inside the Medina.famous-hats

Every morning a delightful healthy breakfast is served – different homemade yoghurt every day, freshly baked bread and fresh fruit salad. Of course freshly squeezed orange juice and a home baked cake. The lady creates all the breakfast goodies she also makes the best tagine in the city.

My last evening I enjoyed the best tagine ever and in Marrakesh, I enjoyed quite a few, made from lamb and chicken, but her beef tagine with apricots, prunes and almonds … by far THE BEST!!!door

They serve both lunch and dinner on request for their guests and I really recommend it. What they don’t serve is wine by the glass and a slight misunderstanding between me and the staff and was given a full bottle that I never would be able to drink on my own, but a short phone call and the problem were solved by Alice. Now I know for next time.at-the-roof-terrace

During the warmer months, they serve all meals up on their beautiful roof terrace that has the most stunning view of the Atlas mountains. Comfortable and beautiful decorated and with a grill satellite kitchen. During my stay, the afternoons were warm enough to enjoy up on the roof terrace, but the internet doesn’t work that good up there I was informed.fallen-beauties

Inside the hotel, the wifi works fine. Next visit I will do in the Spring so I will be able to enjoy the breakfast with a breathtaking view. This area of 220 m 2(2368 square ft) .

roof-view

There is one little thing and that is the showers. Because they are so difficult to set to a pleasant temperature and lot of water is getting wasted so I would suggest water faucets in the showers. So there is no need to waste water when adjusting the temperature for each shower. Because I guess water isn’t for free.riad-detail

Riad Yasmine is a lush place to escape to and relax at after a frenetic and hectic day out and about in Medina.

” ‘Service Excellence’ costs money
No excellence costs customers! “
Carsten K. Rath

sign

7 thoughts on “sweet dreams and green tea – riad yasmine, marrakesh

  1. Hello Viveka,

    HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU TOO !!

    Thanks so so much for your very kind message, I have read your review on your blog and loved it, the pictures are really nice too, thanks so much !!!!

    We are so happy to read that you had a great stay and that you are coming back, it’s your Moroccan home and you will always be welcome (if we have availability of course) and if not, we hope that you will stop by to say hello when you stay in Morocco !!

    Thank you also for putting a review on TripAdvisor, it really helps us and our future travellers.

    Have a great end of the year and wish you all the best for the coming year !!
    Gabriel
    xx

Leave a Reply

