hair colouring and cooking- meatball pasta bake

“Luck excite in the leftovers”
Japanese proverb

full-dishTo do hair colouring and cooking at the same time, wasn’t really a great idea … but I did it – will I do it again .. even if I’m very multi-tasked -NO!!!!!

With me taking off in a couple of days … I decided that I have to make the best of what I have in the larder cupboard and freezer and it turned out pretty good, with some small Wivi touches.

Had loads of a little bit of everything in the freezer, fridge and cupboard .. mostly from open packs and jars. The only fresh products I used is the onion and garlic.

From the freezer, I used the meatballs, Italian herb mix, diced bacon, grated cheddar and Parmesan cheese. What I found open in the fridge was a jar of ready made pasta sauce and one pack of crossed tomatoes.ready-for-ovenWhen I buy Parmesan cheese the piece is far too big for me to use at once – so what is left over I cut in pieces for single use and freeze. Works fantastically!!!parmesan

The pasta sauce that I found in a glass jar was a very tangy … loads of vinegar in it .. can’t remember when I opened it and for what, but it was still in its use by date (I think), so I add some honey to it and it became great.cooked-pasta

Meatball Pasta Bake, serves 4 person

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/gas mark 4 – bake for 20 min.

400 gr meatballs (cooked)
100 gr bacon, diced
240 gr (8 oz) spaghetti or tagliatelle
1 large onion, diced
2 garlic clove, crushed
Italian herb mix (used frozen)
500 ml pasta sauce
15ml (1tbsp) honey
50 gr (1/2 cup) Parmesan cheese, grated
200 gr (2 cups)  Mozzarella cheese, grated
50 gr  (1/2 cup) Cheddar cheese, grated

Chopped parsley or basil.  on-my-plrw

  1. Cook the pasta to instructions – al dente.
  2. Fry onion and garlic in some olive oil + add meatballs and sauce.
  3. Stir in the well drained pasta
  4. Transfer to ovenproof dish
  5. Scatter the grated cheeses on the dish and bake for about 20 min. on-the-fork

Under normal circumstances, I would serve it with some crisp lettuce with a little bit of dressing, but I didn’t have any lettuce at home.

So the end result of this Sunday adventure was that my pasta was overcooked … my hair became a little too dark … but the dish is something I will do again. This a quick fix dinner, about 30 min. Never done pasta bake before.

colour-mess

quick-fix-logo with text

8 thoughts on “hair colouring and cooking- meatball pasta bake

    • Thank you, Meg … yes, you’re right to Marrakech, I will have the sun on my back, but not much warmer than here at home .. makes the packing easy. +15 at days and +4 at nights. I promise I will share.

  1. I was surprised that you have a bought jar of pasta sauce, Vivi. Sometimes I use them, sometimes not. I like a pasta bake but cheese really doesn’t agree with Mick so we’d just have to eat it naked, straight from the pan. 🙂 🙂 Bon voyage, darlin!

    • Jo, I can’t remember when I made a tomato pasta sauce last time .. so long as it’s what they say on the tin .. I’m okay. Thank you, will be staying at a hotel in Malmö by the bridge .. because my flight is 06.30 – so I have to be at the airport 04.00 and there are no trains from Landskrona at that time. Going to sleep well tomorrow night. Have a lovely Christmas now.

Leave a Reply

