weekly photo challenge – nostalgia

 

I was 19 years old 1967 – that was when I decided to leave the comfort of home and take a look at our world … my first step was very shot – just across the water to FAB Denmark … I didn’t know much about anything, but my year in Denmark gave me an appetite for life and taught me so much about the good things it gives. One of my best years of my 68.

There were lots of things that made those 12 months to the most memorable year and with most of it happened in beautiful and fun loving Copenhagen! But when I think back at those days .. there is 2 things that I still can enjoy today (39 years later) and that automatically brings me back to that extremely happy and wonderful year: the Danish Kartoffelkage (Potato Cake) – pure indulgence and no calories (I wish) … and Procol Harum’s  “A Whiter Shade of Pale”. And here I give you both.

I hope your weekend will be memorable.

Of course …. Copenhagen are still there and it will always have that corner of my heart.

 “I don’t like nostalgia unless it’s mine.”
Lou Reed

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/nostalgia/

17 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge – nostalgia

    • Tom, yes … it’s of course one of mine too. The only song I can remember from my time in Denmark, but it was probably the only track I played .. did a lot of dancing and kissing to this song. *smile

  1. 🙂 Dear Wivi,
    I remember the song well. However, I still need to try a Kartoffelkage 🙂
    So far I can only tell you about Niederegger’s Marzipan Kartoffeln…yummy and delicious, too!
    Big hug, sleep tight xoxoxo 🙂

    • When I flew to Madrid I found out that they have stopped selling the cake on Kastrup airport, but it can be pre-ordered, So I promise when you come to Copenhagen … you will have one.
      Niederegger’s products are excellent .. but nothing is even close to this. Weekend hugs …

  2. Pingback: Nostalgia: Paris | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

