never too late – swedish sausage omlete

full-omeletNow I can smell the autumn in the air – even if the sun is generous and the sky is blue. So the dinner salads on the balcony are over for this year.

The trees are dropping their leafs now and they turn into their most intense colors … the burnt oranges and dark greens. Nights has become so much colder.

I’m very much an autumn girl and love to dress in autumn colors .. and of all songs about autumn this is my favorite.

Landskrona Station, Sweden

I was in a mood to try out something new … got the recipe from this weeks load of supermarket’s leaflets.

I don’t really know what I will call the dish .. so it makes some sense. Let’s call it for what it’s!!!!

It’s a Swedish version on a frittata. Using the Swedish national sausage  … Falukorv. The recipe had used a German sausage but decided to use what I had in the fridge. You can use bacon or any sausage you fancy.falukorv

Very easy to make – and I’m not an omelet chef … I’m a disaster when it comes to omelets. My chefs have been so much better … so I have handed it over to them. sliced-garlic

The recipe is also made as individual omelets, but who has more than one suitable pan. I cooked for only myself …. lonely dinner. I suggest you make it in the biggest frying pan you have and do family service – the pan in middle of the table. Preferably cast iron pan.in-the-pan

Swedish Sausage Omelet, serves 4.
300 gr (11oz) sausage (Falukorv, sliced)
2 spring onions
100gr (3,5oz) frozen peas
200gr (7oz) fresh baby spinach
8 plum cherry tomatoes, halved
8 eggs
1 garlic clove, finely sliced
200gr (7oz) grated cheese
15ml (1tbsp) tomato paste
butter for frying
salt & pepper for seasoning
(plus I always use some freshly grated nutmeg when I cook with fresh spinach)
chopped parsley (used frozen) and chili flakes as garnish.nutmeg

1. Fry the spring onion and sausages (add the sliced garlic to the end so they don’t burn) in butter until they have got a nice color.
2. Add spinach and peas, stir and season to taste
3. Whisk the eggs in a separate bowl. Mix in tomato paste grated nutmeg and pour into the frying pan. Half the tomatoes and distribute them evenly in the omelet.
4. Finish off with the chopped parsley and cheese. Let cook for a couple minute on medium heat under cover until the eggs has solidified.

Sprinkle some chili flakes over before serving and serve with a fresh green salad.close-up

A very easy and very cheap lunch or dinner … for me eating alone, it became a big portion … even if I divided the recipe by 4. Strangely enough, I pulled this omelet off … and it just glided off the pan!!!!

Hurrah!!!! It is never too late ….

“Sausage is a great deal like life.
You get out of it about what you put into it.”
Jimmy Deanon-the-plate

14 thoughts on “never too late – swedish sausage omlete

    • My God …. when I was in SF years ago .. in August I was freezing. 100 – that is too hot for comfort. I’m glad I’m where I’m. I feel for you. I’m not good with too hot weather.

Leave a Reply

