a seriously beautiful and elegant city – madrid

metro-opera-1… but also very hot, today +36C, but somehow it feels very pleasant … I think it’s all down to the breeze we have and all the greenery that Madrid offers.hotel-pillow

Arrived yesterday evening … a very nice man was waiting at the fantastic airport with his shining Mercedes and a wonderful smile at 7am, but the traffic was very bad .. so we didn’t check in until one hour later.lovely-chauffur-with-great-car

Our first evening we gave to the hotel’s cafe and enjoyed some great tapas and a superb beer (at least what my friend said) .. I had a glass of white wine.

Afterwards, we took a short evening walk around Teatro Real (the opera house), our next door neighbor to Palacio Real de Madrid (the Royal Palace) and Catedral de la Almudena. It was loads of people around in the very warm evening. catching-up

Because of my friend Anna Liisa bad sight, we decided to the same walk after breakfast today .. because she thought she will get a better picture of the magnificent buildings, but both of us thought the looked a bit rough in daylight.

The queue for visiting the palace this morning and even after lunch was nearly endless .  no chance that I will join that queue.street-sign

The longest queue we have seen so far was to the Prado Museum showing the art of  Hieronymus Bosch (El Bosco) a Dutch painter active during 1400’s and early 1500’s, it was about 2 times around the block.

I think to be able to enjoy what Madrid has to offer inside it’s stunning buildings … a visit during in January would be ideal. fans

Travel makes one modest.
You see what a tiny place
you occupy in the world.”
Gustave Flaubert

21 thoughts on “a seriously beautiful and elegant city – madrid

  1. I think you’d probably have to book online to shorten the queue, Vivi, but strolling outdoors looks good to me. 🙂 I won’t hug you- just wave the fan a bit faster for you 🙂 🙂

    • I think that I have to come back in the winter and enjoy the inside of Madrid.
      I’m sure if booking online makes things quicker, the fast track. The gentlemen in the fan shop was so lovely …. so I promised to send him a postcard with his fans. Really nice man … his fans are stunning.
      Before bedtime hug.

    • Thank you so much … in my age birthdays is just a reminder that I’m still around. *laughing. Jo, you have missed out on a very beautiful city with so much history and beauty, but it’s not too late.

  2. 🙂 I’ve never been to Madrid (yet), but it looks like I must go there some day.
    Thanks for the beautiful pictures.
    It’s been hot here, too! Better this way than rain. Winter will be here soon enough.
    Many hugs xoxo 🙂

    • Dia, Madrid is a city in your taste and style … Madrid is a city that you need to visit more than once to even see a small part of it and enjoy all what it offers. Shopping is great too, but I’m not getting into that this time. Totally agree that it’s better with sunshine than rain. In Sweden we can smell the autumn in the air already.
      Before bedtime hugs.

  3. Haha, Vivi. I’m sure that you will be able to make it through the queue if you joined…but sometimes it is just not meant to be. Beautiful shots all round. So many, I don’t think I can ever keep up if I walked with you 🙂

    • Mabel, I don’t walk that fast … I’m always behind my company because of all the images I take. You will probably be feed up with waiting for me. This morning an other sunny day … and we are going to visit the modern part of Madrid. I’m not a queue-person, hate all kind of queues even if I have become some better at it. *smile

      • I am like you, Vivi. I too don’t do queues. Would much rather keep moving and see and experience a few things than just one. Sometimes when you queue, after a while you may be told you can’t go in, lol.

        Enjoy your time in Madrid. I’ll be walking with you 😉

      • Mabel, you’re such a sweetheart … you’re so welcome to join me anytime anywhere. Last night in Madrid now .. 8.30am a shinny Mercedes will pick us up for the airport, but we both want to be back in Madrid very soon. But first all the tulips in Amsterdam over Easter, you’re welcome to join us. There will be queues there too, but we will pre-book tickets.

    • Colleen, I thought of you when I took this image .. he was on the bike and suddenly he stopped to check his phone. Important message I guess. At least he didn’t do it on the bike. Madrid has loads of bikers and Sunday they have a big race. La Vuelta a España 2016 with goal here in Madrid. I hope I will see some of them. No public transport above ground tomorrow. Thanks for travelling with me.

  4. Madrid??? You do get around, and you have a knack of doing it in heatwaves. I’m glad Madrid gave what Warsaw didn’t – a sea breeze, and a chauffeured Mercedes! I love the fans and the gold railings and that night shot of the Palacio Real. I’m contemplating a few days in Bucharest, under the influence of my overwhelming Australian daughter.

    • Yes, thanks for the breeze. The evenings are so pleasant. Bucharest, wow … a city I have looked at, but I choose Budapest instead and now Madrid wants me to come back. Looking forward to your “reports”. I wish you a pleasant weekend.

Leave a Reply

