a bit like italian men – mascarpone pasta with chicken

Have been looking at this recipe for a long time but it has so many ingredients, so it has put me off … because I don’t like complicated cooking. But last week my supermarket had a really good deal on Mascarpone cheese, so I thought it was time to take the bull by the horn. The time was right. full dish

The recipe comes original from Allrecipes  and it’s a bit complicated in the cooking procedure, so I had to change into Wivi’s more practical style of cooking. Hate to use many pots. Here I use 3 in totally. nutmeg

It’s a cracking dish and when I made it MY WAY it wasn’t complicated at all. With preparation and cooking, I would say it will take about 45 min in all. So no Quick Fix.

Mascarpone Pasta with Chicken, Bacon, and Spinach – serves 4

6 slices bacon, cut in cubes
2 tablespoons (30 ml) olive oil
200 gr (1 cup) very finely chopped onion
3 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, cubed
salt and ground black pepper to taste
3 tablespoons (45 ml)drained and chopped sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil – I used fresh cherry tomatoes (250 gr- 1 punnet)
2 tablespoons (30 ml) prepared pesto sauce
200 gr (1/2 pound) fresh baby spinach
225 gr (8 ounces) container Mascarpone cheese
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 tablespoon (15 m) Dijon mustard, or more to taste
1 lemon, juiced
120 ml (1/2 cup) milk
salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste plus some freshly grated nutmeg.
120 ml (1/2 cup) grated Parmesan cheese
400 gr (16 ounces) package pasta of your liking.
1 tablespoon (15 ml) grated Parmesan cheese, or to tastejust washed

I started with the sauce …. just put everything into the pot and stir it smooth; mascarpone, mustard, lemon juice, and milk. Add the grated Parmesan and seasoning to taste. Put to the side.

  1. Fry the bacon, chicken, onion and crushed garlic until the chicken becomes gold and cooked through. Drain on absorbing paper can be done in advance.
  2. The recipe contains sun-dried tomatoes, but I’m not a favorite .. so I used halved fresh cherry tomatoes.
  3. Cook the pasta to instructions in a generous amount of salted water. Stir during cooking.
  4. Put a small amount of olive oil into a frying pan, add the pesto and the tomatoes and stir for 3 min, then add the baby spinach and stir until it has become wilted (deep green). Seasoning with some freshly grated nutmeg.
  5. Add the chicken-bacon mix and give it a quick heat up.
  6. Drain pasta and put it back in the pot, add sauce and the chicken-spinach mix. pesto tomatoes

Serve in heated bowls with some freshly grounded Parmesan, fresh ground black pepper and chopped basil on top.

It’s a very colorful, rich, smooth, creamy and filling dish, a bit like the Italian men …. fantastic in right portion size. *smile  For me is this dish very Italian, but I think the recipe comes from the US.grated parmesan

I was surprised how easy the dish was to make, consider all the ingredients. And it’s very tasty. A new tasty acquaintance that I will keep close contact with.

Some people enjoys a glass wine while cooking … nothing for me, then I will be all over the place, but I always listen to my favorite music for the mood I’m in.

So during the creation of this dish was I listen to famous Italian opera arias and this was one of them. “Largo Al Factotum” from “The Barber of Seville” by Gioachino Rossini, premiere 20 February 1816 at Teatro Argentina in Rome.

“Great cooking favors the prepared hands.”
Jacques Pepinvery creamy

]

35 thoughts on “a bit like italian men – mascarpone pasta with chicken

  1. Sweetheart, your food photography is divine! 🙂 This looks so good- right up my street 🙂
    What a night in Turkey! You will have to be extra careful, Vivi. I will worry about you. Extra hugs!

    • Good Morning, I’m going to talk to my insurance company on Monday and I will see what they say about refund, but I have checked other airlines and the only connection with Pristine is over Istanbul, but maybe I should just change flight there. And buy a single to Istanbul and stay at the airport. Will wait until Monday to see how the Istanbul airport statues is. They are closed just now. It has been a dramatic night, watched until 3am.

      • I was going to have a 5 nights stop over. Just now the airports in Istanbul closed. 26th I’m flying to Kosovo. But if the airports are not open I’m not able to make it for the weddings. There is only flights over Istanbul.

      • My neighbors daughter and son are getting married .. 28.7 and 31.7 – they came to Sweden about 23 years ago escaping the war.
        I have been in contact with my favorite hotel and they say that it’s very unstable. So I will get a refund. Airport is open … so I will not do a stop-over in Istanbul. Change my departure ticket to 26.7 and only change flight in Istanbul. That will be safe.

      • I know .. I don’t think I will enjoy see abandoned tanks on the street. Hope the travel agent will help out without adding any bigger cost to the ticket.

  2. Superb photos and an enticing recipe. What a pity I’m living in a vegan household! Do take care travelling and enjoy Kosovo. I’ve just finished reading “Travels in blood and honey” by Elizabeth Gowing about two years she spent there in 2007. Plenty of recipes, mainly featuring honey, although a bit edgy in western attitude. I’ll look forward to your posts. Another destroyed country.

    • Thanks, Meg …. our State Department has told us not to visit Turkey, so I have decided to just change flight there … on 26th and when coming back! All flights today goes over Istanbul if I don’t want to pay 1000€ so I only have to change one flight and keep the rest. What a carry on just now. They use € as currency so that make things a lot easier. I’m staying with the family under the wedding and then I have 4 days on my own in Pristina. Very excited over the trip and the 2 weddings. I promise to stay safe. *smile – you can do this pasta with out the meat … use mushrooms and mixed colored peppers instead. Or he doesn’t eat cheese???

    • Maralee, sorry .. I have missed this comment from you. I’m totally with you .. if it’s too complicated I lose interest before it’s ready. This is a really good pasta dish.

Leave a Reply

