day out in my home town (part 1)

It was a while since my friend, Iris and I had our girly day out, which we are suppose to have once per months. We have been travelling both and our calendars has added up.entrance

So yesterday we got together here in Landskrona, because she wanted to visit the exhibition about our beloved Hollywood star, Ingrid Bergman – the raise and fall of Ingrid Bergman – at Landskrona Museum.

But we also delighted ourselves with their Carl Fredrik Reuterswärd’s “Non-Violence” art – Carl Fredrik passed away 6th of May this year and he had his studio here in Landskrona.Non-Violence

We took the bus to and enjoyed lunch out in the small fishing village of Borstahusen and visit the Pumphus Art Gallery that is showing drawings and glass sculptures by the Swedish artist, Bertil Vallien. A small show, but magical.Bertil Vallien

We were lucky with the weather, it looked at first a bit iffy …. but turned out to be a perfect and pleasant Summer day, not too warm with a pleasant wind.

I have to divided our day into 2 posts … this is part one and only about Ingrid Bergman.Casablanca 1942

Ingrid Bergman, how doesn’t remember her against Humphrey Bogart and directed by Michael Curtiz in “Casablanca” from 1942.

“Gaslight” is one of my favorite movies … still nail biting.quote 1

Ingrid was a very strong willed and independent woman, she went her way … and even Hollywood wanted her to change her teeth and looks, she said no. Born 1915 and when she was 3 her mother died and her actress career started when she was only 16.

She had some passionate love affairs, even as married and she always followed her heart in all of them.

She married dentist Petter Lindström in 1934 and they got a daughter together, during their marriage she returned to Europe after the scandalous publicity surrounding her affair with Italian director Roberto Rossellini during the filming of Stromboli in 1950. The result of that she left husband and child behind.mother and daugher (Isabella)

With Rossellini she got a son and 2 twin daughters. A week after her son was born, she divorced Lindström and married Rossellini in Mexico. In 1957 she divorced Rossellini. The next year she married Lars Schmidt, a theatrical entrepreneur from a wealthy Swedish shipping family. That marriage lasted nearly two decades, until 1975 when they divorced.

During the her marriage with Lindström she also had a brief romance with Gregory Peck and also the world famous war photographer Robert Capa. They met when she was touring in Europe to entertain American soldiers in 1943 and he followed after her to Hollywood.Robert Capa letter

She won 3 Oscars and was nominate 4 times.

Films that I remember her from;

Intermezzo: A Love Story (1939)
Casablanca (1942)
For Whom the Bell Tolls (1943) – Nominated
Gaslight (1944) – OSCAR
Spellbound (1945)
The Bells of St. Mary’s (1945) – Nominated
Notorious (1946)
Joan of Arc (1948) – Nominated
Anastasia (1956) – OSCAR
Murder on the Orient Express (1974) – OSCAR
Autumn Sonata (1978) – Nominated
A Woman Called Golda (1982)

Ingrid died in 1982 on her 67th birthday in London, of breast cancer and she is buried in her beloved Fjällbacka in Sweden, where she had her summer residence.

“Be yourself. The world worships the original.”
Ingrid Bergman67 years

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “day out in my home town (part 1)

  1. I’ve always loved this song and love to play it on my piano. I think it will one of the first ones I play on my new piano when I get it. 🙂 Ingrid was a great actress and a very spunky woman.

    • New piano … congratulations!!! Do you have to wait until the house is ready???? How are thing progressing for you two and the house???!!! I hope that one day I will be able to listen to you playing. I love this song too. I watch the movie yesterday evening. Just fantastic.

  2. Oh, my, this post is truly evocative of times gone by that will never return. The photo with the twins made me giggle. A nice reminder that these times truly happened, we didn’t only dream them up. And I played the song twice.

    • Manja, I couldn’t have put it better myself … love your comment. And the song is ageless. She were a very special lady and I don’t think we Swede really understand how big she was … my generation maybe, we shouldn’t forget her or Greta Garbo. But we have new Swedish stars on the screen today. Life goes on.

  3. Just to be able to snap your fingers and stroll through all those men! 🙂 I wouldn’t know what to do with them so it’s just as well I never had the knack 🙂 The glass looks pretty too. Looking forward to the rest of Landskrona.

    • Ingrid, knew what to do .. and she enjoyed all of them. Yes, I will start working on the glass .. and the non-violence part. Hopefully it will be ready before Wednesday take off.

      • Ooh, so soon! Meg loves Gdansk even though the weather is not so great for her. I’m still on a Polish kick. The Oskar Schindler museum was very powerful (and I’ve even got Sue practising some basic Polish! You’ll be proud of her 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

