early summer (+29C/+84.2F) favorite – fresh asparagus with ham

full plateFor me, summer means sandals, new potatoes, the sunshine, asparagus, strawberries, floral dresses, glistening ocean, soft serve ice cream, brown legs and children’s play.

What I don’t like to do in during the wonderful summer evenings is to spend too much time in the kitchen, cooking for myself.

new potatoes

Asparagus and new potatoes I can eat every day … when they are in season. And it’s season now!!!!!

So for dinner for my first day of Swedish summer – Monday – I decided to do something quick of something I really like.asparagus

Pan Fried Asparagus with New Potatoes and Air Dried Ham, serves 4

12 med new potatoes, well scrubbed
2 bunches of asparagus
16 slices air-dried ham, also fantastic to serve grilled.
1 lemon, cut in wedges for garnish
1 tub chilled ready-made Hollandaise sauce (250ml)
1 garlic clove, finely sliced
4 eggs, 9 min boil or poached.
butter and olive oil for frying
20 black olives
and freshly ground black pepper

  1. Scrub the potatoes very well and cut in half, cook in well-salted water until ready.
  2. Melt butter in a skillet over medium-high heat. Stir in the olive oil, salt, and pepper. Cook garlic in butter for a minute, but do not brown. Add asparagus, and cook for 8-10 minutes, turning asparagus to ensure even cooking.
  3. Heat up the ready made Hollandaise Sauce on low heat.
  4. Arrange the asparagus on heated plates and add all the other ingredients in a creative way.ready made sauce

I bought the Hollandaise Sauce chilled, to stand and make my own sauce …. for eating alone. Even if had guests I would buy it ready made, hard to beat the product I buy and the risk that its split is eliminated.pan fried aspargus

This is one of my early summer favorites – and if the asparagus and potatoes were available the whole year … I would be an all year favorite.close up

The dish takes the time of cooking the potatoes to make, so about 20 min. Perfect dish for being served on my balcony decorated with evening sunshine.

“Asparagus inspires gentle thoughts.”
Charles Lamb

QUICK FIX LOGO - featured

Click on this logo and it will get more “Quick Fix” recipes

 

 

14 thoughts on “early summer (+29C/+84.2F) favorite – fresh asparagus with ham

Leave a Reply

