in between rain, snow and hail – potato soup with bacon

ready to eatThe last week we had all weathers, expect summer … it has been spring in the morning and snowfall in the afternoon and there is no warmth in the air at all. Last two days has it been raining none stop and it has gone winter dark again. So depressing. april weather

So perfect weather for soup. I love soup, but something I very seldom does, mostly because I’m a lonely diner and to cook soup for one person … doesn’t appeal to me and make a big pot and eat for days .. doesn’t do neither. Of course, I can freeze, but no!

Last week a recipe landed inside my door from Lidl, inside their weekly leaflet, a simple potato soup …. and we clicked.

So yesterday when my friend came over for dinner … I decided to try it out and a little of my Wivi touch. There isn’t many recipes that I don’t give my little touch. cream and species

It is supposed to be a starter soup and served cold …. but cold soup when it’s only +6 outside, I don’t think so.

I’m not a big fan of rosemary, I love on pork  … but that is about it. So for the breadcrumbs, I used a spice mixer that over here is called “Persillado”, which I use a lot when I cook. It’s not the same as the French Persillade, but I don’t have a clue what spices it contains. I know for sure dried parsley, bay leafs, garlic and salt, but it’s a lot more to it.sharpest in the draw

Also, the recipe didn’t contain the diced bacon that I have added and I decided to fry it separate instead of letting it cook in the soup to make it crunchy and give more taste. It’s a very quick soup to make … in total maybe 30 min, if even that.

Potato Soup with fried bacon and bread crumbs, serves 8 as starter – 4 as main.
500gr (1lbs) floured potatoes
1 small onion
1 small garlic clove
30ml (2tbsp) olive oil
150ml (5.08 fl oz) milk
150ml (5,8 fl oz) whipping cream
30ml (2tbsp) concentrated chicken stock
600ml (2,5 cup) water
200 (7oz) gr bacon, diced

Breadcrumbs
1 slice frozen toast bread
15ml (1tbsp) rapeseed oil
15ml (1tbsp) butter
5ml (1tsp) fresh rosemary, finely chopped

  1. Peel and slice the potatoes, onion and garlic clove. Softly fry it all in a big pot in the olive oil for about 5 min.
  2.  Pour in the water, milk, cream and stock. Boil for about 15 min until the potatoes are soft.
  3. Blend the soup with a hand blender until it becomes smooth.

Seasoning to liking.

bread crumbs
Breadcrumbs
1. Grate the frozen bread slice on the coarsest side of the grater.
2. Fry the crumbs crispy and golden. Mix in the herbs and let them rest on absorbing paper.
3. Fry the diced bacon crispy and let also that rest on absorbing paper.

Serve the soup (warm in preheated bowls) and divide the bacon, garnish with breadcrumbs and a tiny dash of olive oil.soup close up

We nearly had the full pot … only 2 of us. Perfect dinner for a very wet and chilly April evening. I really hope the Spring will arrive soon .. and that we will get a fantastic Summer this year and I can see this soup served as a perfect starter for warm Summer lunch and dinner.

Without the bacon and using vegetable stock instead – this is fantastic vegetarian soup

“There is no such thing as bad weather,
only different kinds of good weather.”
John Ruski
house other side of the street

15 thoughts on “in between rain, snow and hail – potato soup with bacon

  1. As long as it’s not raining potato soup, Wivi!! ….that said, the recipe looks good. I never make soup from scratch, but when I do a chicken pot roast or casserole, I make soup from the liquid and vegetables, simples!

    • It wouldn’t suprise me if it started to rain any kind of soup soon. *smile … I have done onion soup a couple of times this winter … but before that I can’t even remember when I done a soup last.
      The way you do soup is to … take care of all the goodies. *smile

  2. Känner nästan doften, Viveka…Jag älskar potatissoppa. Och den passar kolossalt bra denna kalla april. Snygga illustrationer, som vanligt.

  3. I’ve just eaten or I could be seriously tempted! Left my snowy bit of the UK and am catching up while Dad dozes over the snooker. It was a 3.30 start! Dzien dobry hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

