urge to be creative – avocado and potato salad

full plateIt’s mostly because of the season and light that I’m not so creative during the dark months – I rely on food that I have done before … don’t feel creative at all, but so soon the days are getting longer and the sun is out more often … I start to play around in the kitchen.

I also need daylight to get some decent images to use. Probably the main reason why I don’t share many recipes during the winter. So the urge is back!

I love potato salad in nearly any shape and style …. mostly I enjoy it with a great sausage. But sometimes with a nicely grilled chicken breast.crushed garlic

Friday evening means “Let’s Dance”, the Swedish version of “Dancing with the Stars”. My friend Bärbel and I enjoy watching it … so we do that together and means that we also dine together. You that knows me … know that I don’t what to spend too much time on cooking – even if I’m a chef – I lose interest if it takes too long time and I get sloppy.

So Friday afternoon I played around with potatoes and avocado – two ingredients I never mixed together before (for me it’s a like “cake on cake”) … and it turned out to be a great combination. So I thought I will share it with you. It takes about 30 min in total to prepare.

Potato and Avocado Salad with Bacon and Parmesan Dressing, serves 4

1 kg (2 pounds) new potatoes.
120gr (4,3oz) bacon, slices
100ml (0.43 cup) mayonnaise
100ml (0.43 cup) crème fraiche
15ml (1tbsp) with maple syrup
10ml (2tsp) apple cider vinegar
5ml (1tsp) fresh lemon juice
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 bunch of radishes, sliced
1 red onion, finely sliced
1 ripe avocado, cut into chunks
1 baby gem head and some romaine lettuce
100ml (0.43 cup) course grated Parmesan cheese
Fresh ground black pepper

4 or 8 sausages of your liking (we had 2 Chorizo each)spicy

We don’t have new potatoes yet … if I don’t want to pay an arm and leg for some that are imported from Israel. No, I rather wait for our own – maybe 8 weeks more. So I used small firm potatoes that I scraped the peel off.avocado & potato salad 2
  1. Boil the potatoes in salted water, I cut mine in half.
  2. Fry the bacon crispy and let rest on absorbing paper. Break into pieces.
  3. Mix all the ingredients for the dressing together and season to liking
  4. Carefully mix the dressing with the potatoes, avocado chunks, the red onion, and radishes.avocado & bacon

Arrange the lettuces on 4 semi deep plates and top with the salad. Decorate with sliced radishes, shaved parmesan, the bacon pieces, and some freshly ground black pepper.

We both enjoyed the salad and it’s going to be served on the balcony this summer … next time with grilled moist chicken breasts. So bring on the Summer, but maybe the Spring should arrive properly first. *smile

 “Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes.”
Scott Adamswith sausage

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “urge to be creative – avocado and potato salad

  1. Potato and avocado salad. That’s the first I heard of, and it’s an interesting combination. I love avocado especially on toast multigrain bread, and I think it goes well with anything. In the second photo, is that a potato masher? I’m not too good in the kitchen…but I try 😀 Your salad looks delicious and I hope you enjoyed every bite of it ❤

    • Mabel …. I’m not that keen on avocado … but from time to time I like it. And I had one at home … so put it in with the potato salad.
      No, it’s a garlic crusher. – but they look very like.The principle is the same, only the size that is a bit different.

  2. Sounds very tasty! 🙂 New potatoes always upset my stomache- I don’t know why. I had some today and I’m still griped. So I’ll be happy with boiled. 🙂

    • Poor you …. new potatoes with butter – I can eat myself sick off, but they are not ready until the end of June – so still winter potatoes. I’m glad you can eat other potatoes, because what would life be without spuds. *smile

    • Sylvia, so easy to make … and I hope you will have a kitchen soon. What a handicap to not have a kitchen. *smile … or maybe not. Here it has been snowing … and so cold in the wind. The spring has arrived, but April is having fun with us. Hoping that after this we will have a fantastic summer.

      • Thanks, Viveka. Actually I’m getting quite used to eating out and not having to cook. I hope I’m not too lazy to start cooking again once the kitchen is finished. Well, as it isn’t even started yet, I don’t have to worry about it for a while 🙂 xx

      • Sylvia, I thought that is was something like that … that you enjoy eating out. It’s easy to get lazy in the kitchen … I was that while I was working, never cooked for myself. Always eating out over weekends .. or went to M&S. I have start cooking for myself every day .. since I moved back to Sweden and I enjoy it. Enjoy your candle dinners … *smile

Leave a Reply

