full moon and no money – havanna bank sq, belfast

If you want to check out more of my dining adventures around the world - just click on this logo

If you want to check out more of my dining adventures around the world – just click on this logo

My first evening in Belfast I didn’t really know what I was looking for when it came to dinner, so I turned to Tripadvisor and worked my through their restaurant list for Belfast. Wanted something near to my hotel and that still didn’t show their Christmas menu on their website.havanna sign

Havana is ranked as #7 best restaurant in town and only 8 min walk from my hotel. When I checked out their website menu I notice that they was serving lamb rump (my favorite piece of meat) and that just screamed out to me.

Havana Bank Sq
56-58 Berry Street, Belfast BT1 1F
Phone; 028 9031 0809
Cuisine; Modern International – ££
Famous for their cocktials

The Bank Sq is a new development for me. Bank Square emerges from former back lands, it is dominated by the service yard wall. Now they have put up interesting art along the wall and there is a new designer hotel planned for the area too. Belfast city has done a great job of the area.

What I understand that every Thursday there will be a Farmer Market on the Sq too, started last spring – Folktown Market.

Havana call themselves Belfast’s best kept secret – just located beside Castle Court in the middle of city center. Only 45 mtr from the main shopping street, Royal Avenue. Just beside the St. Mary’s Chapel.

st mary's chapel

It’s was a Monday evening and when I arrived there was only 2 tables taken .. and as I left a new party arrived.

I had to ask about the connection with the name of the restaurant, menu and interior, because none of if really added up. What I understand the owner love Havana and Cuba. It was meant to become a Cuban Restaurant, but it didn’t really work out that way. Doesn’t really matter because what they have today is top class .. when it comes to service, menu and presentation.restaurant lamp

The girls serving was funny, very chattily and so charming. Even if I was most of my dinner the only guest they had, I didn’t feel alone. Excellent job, girls.details 2

I don’t understand why I didn’t try any of their masterclass cocktails out before dinner, totally forgotten about it. Had vodka & tonic, AGAIN!!!!! It’s a drink that comes and goes with me in periods. First time I had it was in NYC when Absolut Vodka was launched big time on the market over in USA. Love the combination.

goat cheese

For my starter I had Soft Irish Goat’s Cheese (Spiced Dukkah, Beetroot, Date & Tamarind Chutney, Crispy Poppadom) – lovely presented on a slate plate.
lamb rump

Main course and the reason why I chose Havana. Moroccan Spiced Lamb Rump (Lentil & Chickpea Dhal, Cucumber Raita, Persian Flatbread) – the rump was cooked to perfection, medium rare … and that dhal was so full of flavors. I have never been to Morocco, but that dish took me there. Just how I imaging Moroccan food will taste like.
tropical dessert

As the grand finale I went for Clandeboye Yogurt Panna Cotta (Mango Jelly, Tropical Fruit Salsa, Sesame Wafer) and it was a piece of heaven, even if I thought the portion was a bit too big I wanted to lick the glass it was served in. A dessert full of tropical summer.

Had a glass of Merlot with my meal – when I checked my bill now to find out the name of it … I see that they haven’t charged me for the wine. I have now been back and paid for my glass of Merlot, £4.00 – I had Alto Basso Merlot from Chile.

inviting

Money became a big issue when it came down to the payment …. I didn’t have my purse with me. So soon as I opened my handbag I knew that my purse was on the working desk at my hotel room.

How embarrassing wasn’t that. But the girls handled it fantastically and offered me to pay the next day, but that I didn’t feel comfortable with. So I told them to hold on to my L. Credi handbag and Oscar (my Canon) while I was going to the hotel for the purse.belfast on the globe

I was rushing back to the hotel, but I had to walk normally back to the restaurant …. I paid the damage and got the handbag back with Oscar in. The girls kindly offered me a coffee.

What I understand from the restaurant’s website they hold cocktail master classes … something I would consider for a night out with my girlfriends, if I still lived in Belfast.

royal ave & city hall 1

But it was time for me to get Oscar working on the Belfast full moon and Belfast’s beautiful City Hall. We didn’t do a great job of the moon … it was very spooky. belfast full moon

“Never spend your money before you have it.”
Thomas Jefferson

18 thoughts on “full moon and no money – havanna bank sq, belfast

  1. Oooops! Just as well it wasn’t too far from the hotel… That lamb sounds fantastic, I am very partial to a succulent piece of properly cooked lamb

      • Thanks Vivi 🙂 I saw part of your FB message on screen but I haven’t had chance to reply. Trying to write tomorrow’s walk, watch Murray/Djokovic in the final, do laundry and cook Sunday lunch 🙂 🙂 Sending hugs for now!

      • Disaster! 😦 But he can still go home to his wife and soon-to-be-new baby. There are much worse things 🙂 Ironing/cooking done. Just tomorrow’s post and stuff. Sending love Vivi 🙂

      • I hope you had a pleasant flight and that you are safely in your paradise … here we have another storm over us … Sending you Henry hugs.

      • Lovely to get a smoke signal from you. Not much sunshine here today .. but yesterday. Enjoy the sun and white. Take a second glass for. Came down with a bad cold as I arrived Edinburgh Airport … going home. Been under the duvet since Friday evening. Hopefully, I will be able to do some grocery shopping tomorrow. Duvet hug.

  2. 🙂 I shouldn’t read your posts before I go to sleep. They always leave me hungry 😀
    Thanks for the card! I love to find post in my mailbox from you.
    Have a good night’s sleep. Hope all is well?!
    Many hugs xo 🙂

    • Thanks, glad you have received the card – that was a very quick postman. Nearly done with my UK tour now … only 5 days left. Leaving for Edinburgh on Tuesday.
      The weather could have been better, but in good friends company weather comes secondary.

Leave a Reply

