my first day in gdańsk … in random

“After a day’s walk everything has twice its usual value.”
George Macauley Trevelyan

It was more than 10 years since I was in Gdańsk the last time … had forgotten how stunningly beautiful this Polish town truly is.

After I installed myself at my hotel room .. it was nearly 3pm .. so I took a couple of hours walk through the old town in the afternoon sun. In the evening I had a fantastic meal (fresh fish and seafood) at one of the best restaurants in the old town, Restauracja Tawerna. a bowl of mussels

A thousand years of history and picturesque seaside location makes Gdańsk considered one of the most beautiful cities in Poland and in Europe. Located in the north of Poland, at The Baltic Sea coast.

“Danzig” is the name of the city I remember from my school days. From archaeological research shows that the resort was one of artisans and fishermen already in the 600’s. The city was founded in 1224 or 1225 and was in the late Middle Ages, an important German-dominated commercial town.

Early in the morning, 1 September 1939 started the German battleship Schleswig-Holstein’s bombardment of Westerplatte at the Vistula estuary and thus had the attack on Poland started. The very next day was declared Danzig reappeared in the kingdom and was occupied by Nazi Germany until 1945.beautiful street view.

In comparison to other German cities, survived the city fairly well away from the Allied bombing raids. At the end of March 1945, in the final months ended Danzig during the Soviet occupation and subjected to a wild looting and destruction and set on fire. Nearly the whole Danzigs population fled, deported or killed; about 100 000 people lost their lives.

Since 1945, when the city went to Poland, the town is therefore predominantly Polish-speaking and wears its official Polish name, Gdansk.1945

Today it lives about 500.000 people in Gdansk and they have about 3 million tourists visiting every year … with overnight stay. That is impressive. I would say I heard the Norwegian language more any other. The Norwegians was absolute everywhere, but I don’t mind … because they are extremely nice people. Heard some Russian, Swedish and German too.

Poland is the 17th most visited country in the world by foreign tourists. Seen Poland joined EU … the tourism has increased and it now up to 66 million per year. table setting

18 thoughts on “my first day in gdańsk … in random

  1. 🙂 My goodness, Wivi, you’re everywhere these days! Good for you!
    And for us – we get to see all these lovely pictures and read you travel diaries. I enjoy it very much, especially the little historic excursions.
    And the food, of course.
    Sleep well and sweet dreams xo 🙂

    • This month .. I’m staying at home .. but then Vienna is coming up .. and Christmas in Prague. I have nothing else to do … great way to spend my days. Thank you so much for your lovely comment. Food .. very important … Coffee and cakes was great too in Gdansk .. and the Mojitos. *smile Duvet hug …

    • Yes, was a pianist … I would think Chopin is high up on the list. Not that big fan, but I love this version of his Nocturne. Chad Lawson is the pianist’s name. There was many newly wed around for their photo sessions … Such a beautiful city, so the subjects was there … all around .. hard to not get great images. Thank you so much for your lovely comment.

    • You will love Gdansk, met a lady that been there 8 times … it’s the pretties old town I been to, after Brugge. Warsaw is very nice, but not like Gdansk.

  2. More lovely music- Chopin, of course! 🙂 Gdansk is going further and further up my list with each of your posts, Vivi. It is on the cheap flights circuit here but because it’s so far from family there’s not so much likelihood of me going.

    • Yes, Chopin .. not one of my favourites, but I love this version. Like is so much I bought it on Itune.
      Jo, you’re a big girl .. and you can take a couple of days for yourself and Gdansk. You can visit when you’re in Poland. You JUST have to have a couple of days in Gdansk.

    • My pleasure …. Chopin was a natural choice … when it’s about Poland. I love this version too, even if I’m not a bigger fan of Chopin. Thank you for visiting. Lots of …

    • Hi there, thank you so much ….. long time no see … I hope that life is gentle to you and your loved ones. This reblog makes me very happy, because this post I’m very found ofmyself.THANKS!

      • Yes Thank you so much, I just loved the post. And yes I was and still busy with my Yoga practice and studies. I am sure you are doing very well. and all those likes are for you and your post. Thank you so much.

      • Glad that life is gentle to you and your family .. and that health is on your side too. I’m so okay as I can be .. suppose to be cancer free now. 5 years has gone since that journey. Thank you so much for the visit and taking the time to comment.

Leave a Reply

