only the pea missing – hostel 22, gdańsk.

pillowtalk logo

So were to start …. about Gdańsk. I don’t think I have ever taken so many shots of buildings as I did during my visit in Gdańsk – poor Oscar … and that Neptune Fountain!!!!! gdansk houses

Had a fantastic couple of days, 4 nights was just perfect. More nights I think I had got bored, because there is only so much to do in the Old Town. I suppose it I went inside every building of interest I would had to stay for a fourth night.Hostel 22

I start with were I stayed, Hostel 22.

I have only been camping twice and that was during my airforce training .. and I have never stayed on a hostel before. To stay on a hostel have never been in my book, but there is a first time for everything.

Hostel 22
Panieńska 22 Street
80 – 843 Gdańsk
tel. 0048 58 718 06 17
mob. 0048 795 051 162

Fabulous 8.8 (booking.com) 11 en-suite rooms
Price: € (200Zloty/440SEK/47€/£35/$52.50 per room/night) Breakfast 15Zloty. my keys

I found Hostel 22 more or less by accident – first the images of the rooms talked to me and then when I read that every room has their own bathrooms – it made my mind up.
The hotels in Gdansk were very expensive, even if out of season … and me just back from Berlin, I wasn’t willing to pay too much.

The location of the hostel is perfect too – on a couple of minutes walk from the Old town, so very quite – still opisite a very popular nightclub, Club gallery Bunkier. Whatever a club gallery can be???!!!. The building is a bunker from the WWII, no windows what so every.
Didn’t hear anything from the club, but my room was on the back.

You also get free admition to the club when you stay at the hostel, only show your key ring. Bunkier club gallery

Big rooms with wooden floor, no carpets …. high ceiling, very spacious modern bathroom with a very good shower – towel heating rack and big mirror. They provided towels and bed-linen and very nice hand soap. Flat screen TV, but no use to me … only Polish channels.hostel 22 - sign

Free Wi-Fi very good and stable.  Breakfast is very nice; freshly baked bread every morning, great coffee … cold cuts, jams, cereals, yoghurts, sliced tomato and cucumber, juices and nice cheeses. Not a big buffet, but very fresh and more than enough. No hot offers.
Coffee and tea is for free 24/7.

The breakfast room very cozy and when I was on-line, I was sitting in the breakfast room.
3 lovely girls working in shifts in the reception and an other girl, I guess, did the rooms. The reception girls speaks very good English. cosy welcoming

If you want your room made up with fresh towels every day it would cost you 10Zloty extra per day. I didn’t have that service, but survived making my own bed up.

The reception is unmanned from 8pm to 8am. So I don’t really know what would happen if something happens, but everything was perfect. There should be an emergency phone (direct line).

Only minus is that the beds is very hard, it was like sleeping on a wooden bench. I told the girls to tell their manager to invest in a nice top mattress, because there was people in mature age staying there and I think most people want a little softer bed when reaching age. As young you can sleep on anything … don’t feel any pain.room 2

I had to use the second duvet as top mattress, but it wasn’t enough. Still I would stay there again, but hopefully they will have softer mattresses next time. If not I have to take sleeping pill, as I did this time. Felt a bit like the princess and the pea .. only the pea missing.

A true hidden gem. I showed my friends the hostel inside out … and Magdalena works for Hilton in Gdańsk and she surprised over the standard and the coziness of the hostel. She didn’t even know that it excited.

“My hotel room has a great view.
The view is right in front of the TV.”
Jarod Kintz,

Image provided by: mywishboard.com

Image provided by: mywishboard.com

I don’t speak or understand Polish, but I have figured out that this song is about a princess!!! *smile

32 thoughts on “only the pea missing – hostel 22, gdańsk.

    • You will not be disappointed … I payed 860Zloty with breakfast for 4 nights. Nearly for free and it’s a lovely place. Enjoy Gdansk .. great food, beer too.

  1. Hello,
    Thank you so much for the nice review! We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay
    in our hostel.
    Next time we will try to make your stay even more enjoyable.

    We wish you all the best and look forward to see you again!

    Pozdrawiam/Best regards,
    Marta / Hostel 22

  2. Makes me wanna go there. I have one question. I have avoided Eastern Europe, mainly due to that I have an idea in my head that it’s not as safe for a woman traveling alone, or with a child, compared to the rest of Europe. Can you ease my mind on that one? I love old buildings, and I am very interesting in going to Poland, and Estonia.

    • I have only traveled alone in Poland (in Eastern Europe)… visited Warsaw in July Not any more unsafe than travel alone in USA. It all depends on where you go and where you’re staying.
      Gdansk is a beautiful spot and loads of people around everywhere. I never felt unsafe. In Warsaw I went on both buses and trams around midnight. Nobody .. tried anything. Don’t feel anymore unsafe in Poland than I do in London in the middle of the night. Estonia … haven’t heard anything bad – but it doesn’t matter where you travel alone or in company … know a young Swedish mother that was kidnapped from a cafe in Italy, where she was sitting with friends. So .. how we can we protect us. I wouldn’t go alone to Russia.

      • Bra svar! Det enda stället jag faktiskt har råkat illa ut i är Göteborg. Det är nog närheten till Ryssland som har gjort mig lite tveksam till Polen och Estland. Men min nyfikenhet håller på at ta över 🙂

      • Du kommer att vara okay … men som sagt bo inte på hotell som ligger på halvskumma gator. Stor skillnad mellan Poland, som är med i EU .. och Ryssland. Är mycket mera orolig när jag går runt i Göteborg än någonstans i Europa.

  3. I’m loving your Gdansk posts and making notes ready for next year. You make it sound like a perfect place to stay, and Gdansk a place worth visiting. But my partner needs the beds kept hard please!

    • I just suggested that they buy some some top mattresses – that for people that think the beds are too hard … can get.
      And who says they are going to listen to me. I really recommend this little gem anyhow.

Leave a Reply

