pure dead brilliant! – “fräulein fiona”, berlin

prêt à manger logo

“There is some really good crack when I come back to Scotland.
It’s where I learned to swear.”
Ewan McGregor

Many people complain about the food in Germany …. personal I don’t have a clue what they are about. I never had a bad meal ever in German and I worked on the Gothenburg – Kiel route for about 15 years and more or less every second working day I went a shore and had something to eat before I went back aboard again.

Berlin has some amazing restaurants, but this time we didn’t break the bank on any restaurant … but we didn’t visit any of the serious top ones neither. No need. If I had been alone I would have delighted myself on at least one.our stop

We dined on restaurants in walking distance from our hotel that was situated in Kurfürstendamm, our bus and U-bane stop was Uhlandstraße. We were truly spoiled with choices.

On my birthday I had booked a table at “Fräulein Fiona”, a little intimate restaurant owned by a lovely young Scottish lady by name Fiona. Lovely setting! A very creative menu,  but the combination of some products in the dishes didn’t all add up for me, but nothing wrong with the quality or the flavors.

Image provided by fraeulein-fiona de

Image provided by fraeulein-fiona de

Outstanding service by Fiona herself and it was like dinning in somebody’s private dinning room – very relaxed and cozy … yes, I would call it romantic too. Is very highly recommended by press … and have great reviews in the press. Also have it’s place in Guide Michelin’s Red Guide for 2015.

Images provided by fraeulien-fiona.de

Images provided by fraeulien-fiona.de

It was a bit of walking distance to restaurant when all fixed up for the evening, so we took a taxi to the restaurant and walked back to the hotel to burn off some calories … about 35 min in 2″ heels.

For this review I have use images provided by others and the restaurant’s website – because mine was worst than poor, but image of the candle holders is mine.

Image provided by yelp.ca

Image provided by yelp.ca

Fräulein Fiona
Fritschestr. 48
10627 Berlin, Charlottenburg
Phone: 030-95 60 22 72

Cuisine: Seasonal-German / €€-€€€

Head Chef: Enrico Böcker

They don’t have an English menu, but Fiona will translate and explain the menu. Not tourist restaurant at all …. I think we were they only tourists that evening. Fairly busy on a Friday night, but she had everything under control.

Image provided by groupon.de

Image provided by groupon.de

My birthday treat became (my friend Anna-Liisa payed the damage):

Meerbarbe auf jungem Spinat
Brille on baby spinach

Kalbskotelett auf Kürbisragout & kleinen Kartoffeln
Veal Chop with Pumpkin ragout and small potatoes

Erdbeertörtchen mit Sorbet von der schwarzen Johannisbeere
Strawberry Shortcake with black current sorbet

I hurts me to say that the veal chop didn’t have any seasoning at all … so blend. The quality of the meat was very good and it didn’t spoil my evening, there was salt and pepper on the table.

Images provided by yelp.de

Images provided by yelp.de

Foina chose our wine … because my knowledge of German red is none what so ever .. never manage to chose a good one yet. She chose a nice Austrian red and Austrian reds I know even less about. We had a glass of Kamptal, Weingut Höllerer, each. And I enjoyed my vodka & tonic pre-dinner .. and we wasn’t served the starter until our drinks was finished. Well done, Fiona.

I love her candle holders!!!! Tealights put in a small glass inside a little sheer white paper bag. Lovely touch. And the tableware was one of the most beautiful I ever eaten on. I really tried to get an image of the plates, but it failed complete.  For me small touches like is so important. fiona - candle holders_

She also hold Gourmet cooking classes at her restaurant, where you will create your own 4-course meal. 4-5 students per course and it will take about 5 hours cooking together and tasting. A very nice idea. I wouldn’t mind that. The courses are only held on request.

Plus the restaurant has a very nice website, but only in German – but with Google translating the pages –  not a problem.

I would without hesitation go back and enjoy another evening with Fiona. She has a really good thing going together with her Head Chef that also helps with serving, I like that a lot.

To you, Fiona, I would say –  Pure dead brilliant!

Image provided by fraeulein-fiona.de

Image provided by fraeulein-fiona.de

2 thoughts on “pure dead brilliant! – “fräulein fiona”, berlin

Leave a Reply

