going japanese my way – goma dressing (roasted sesame seed dressing)

胡麻ドレッシングthe real thing

I haven’t been to many Japanese restaurants before I visit Japan this spring. 15 times in total maybe through my whole life and I visited Japan in 1978-79. And I have never come across Goma dressing before I came to Japan this year and like everybody else that tried …  I LOVE it.

In both Hong Kong and Japan there eats a bowl of green leafs before breakfast, something I tried to do every morning since my return home.

I manage somehow to find the dressing at a deli in Hiroshima, but I only bought one .. and one serving left of it – I have bought Lidl’s dressing and it’s pretty good … but a bit too tangy, but it’s only to add a little sugar to it. Last week they didn’t have any left.

Lidl's sesame dressing

Lidl’s sesame dressing

So I thought how hard can it be to do this dressing .. looked around on the net and there were thousands of recipes, but none really added up for me .. and the flavors I feel in the one I bought in Japan.

Then I landed on “Sumo Kitchen” and there I found the recipe I thought was going to work.

There was ingredients that I didn’t have and not able to get or didn’t have at home like the Japanese mayonnaise and rice vinegar. Sure I can get the vinegar, but none at home. So I had to use what I had at home. Had to replace the rice vinegar with apple vinegar, but it was a bit too tangy, so I had to add a little more sugar. And as mayonnaise, I used Hellman’s and I had to increase the amount.

So here is my version and I am surprised how good and close to the original it become. It came a bit slightly darker, but that was down to the soy sauce, but I don’t really care about the color so long the flavor is there.

I didn’t take any images of the ingredients … didn’t expect it to turn out so good. nice texture

Goma Dressing – Roasted Sesame Dressing, 250 ml 

2tbs white sesame seeds, fresh toasted
1/4 onion sliced
1/2 carrot sliced
1 clove garlic
150cc salad oil (rapeseed)
50cc apple vinegar
60cc soy sauce
2tbs sugar
2,5tbs mayonnaise (use Hellman’s)
1tbs sesame oil

Roast the sesame seed in a dry frying pan on high heat until dark golden …. shaking the pan all the time – because they burn very quickly.

I just put everything into the blender and let it run until it had a nice texture.

The original recipe says: Add all the dry ingredients into your blender, then add the oil, soy sauce and vinegar and frappé until all the sesame seeds have been blitzed into a paste.ready to serve

You can keep your dressing refrigerated up to a week to 10 days.

If you never tasted Goma Dressing, you have missed something very special .. and if you like the sesame flavor – you’re not going to want any other dressing after trying it.

Some recipes have held back some of the sesame seeds to be added whole when the dressing is done. It’s a quite sweet dressing, which I love, I always use a little sugar in all dressings – it is only  to add a little sugar at the time until you find the sweetness you like.

good morning salad

“I know family comes first,
but shouldn’t that mean after breakfast?”
Jeff Lindsay

Goma Dressing

10 thoughts on “going japanese my way – goma dressing (roasted sesame seed dressing)

    • Sue, it’s really good for getting the body to work … I think you will get more vitamins into through your smoothies, but the green leafs will give the stomach something to work with. I know the French take a green leaf salad after their dinners.

  1. 🙂 You honestly eat green leaves before breakfast?
    You must have a very good stomach 😀
    Glad you can now make your favorite salad dressing.
    Enjoy the evening 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

