trying something new; 5-spice chicken

full dishLast week I tried out a recipe that been in my …. must do – file … for a very long time. I’m a big chicken eater, I’m sure that one morning will I wake up with feathers.

I think the reason why I haven’t tried is because I’m not able to get Chinese 5 spice powder here in Landskrona and I have always forgotten to buy it when I been over in UK, that is about 20 times since I moved back to Sweden. Now during my visit to Bristol, it was on top of my shopping list and I found at Salisbury Local. Was surprised that Tesco Express didn’t have it.onion

So now it was time try it out.

I used frozen chicken thighs, it’s impossible for me to buy only 2 fresh .. they come in the smallest pack of six when fresh, so I have to freeze .

I wan’t able to find fresh corn in any story on the market, so I had to use tinned and it came out fine. It would have been more crunchy with the fresh.  Regarding the peppercorns, I used mixed 4, a mix that I also use for my pepper mill. Sichuan pepper is on of the ingredients in Chinese 5-spices  … so I thought it will be “cake on cake”.thigh

5-spice chicken with stir-fried sweet corn and broccoli, serves 4
8 chicken thighs, with bone in
1 finely sliced onion
2 garlic cloves, sliced
1tsp Chinese 5-spices powder
1/5tsp Sichuan pepper (I used mixed whole peppercorn)
60ml (4tbsp) soy sauce
90ml (6 tbsp) clear honeyonion and knife

  1. Put the chicken thighs in a large dish. Mix together the remaining ingredients then add to the chicken. Give it all a good mix then cover and leave in the fridge for minimum 1 hour but not over 24 hours.
  2. Put the oven on 170c, gas3. I use to double line a roasting pan with oiled foil (makes the washing up easier).
  3. Add the chicken, skin side up with the marinade. Roast for about 40 min, basting now and again. Then whack the oven up to 200C, gas 6 and cook for about 10 – 15 min until well browned ans sticky.corn

Sweetcorn and broccoli 
4 fresh cob
1 broccoli head, cut in very small florets.
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp soy sauce
pinch of dried chilli flakes

  1. Stand the cobs upright then run a knife down the cob to cut off the kernels.
  2. Cut the broccoli in small florets.
  3. Stir-fry both, start with broccoli (if using tinned corn), in the butter with the soy sauce and chilli flakes for about 2-5 min.broccoli

Without a doubt this is a dish you will make over and over again and all family members, small and big, will love it.

I will say it takes about one hour total to do (plus the marinating), but your hands will be free about 45 min of that time, when the chicken is in the oven.in the pan

I had it all ready twice since I first tried it out, so easy and quick to do. Original recipe I got from UK  magazine, “woman & home”

“The greatest failure is the failure to try.”
William Ward 

dish close up

19 thoughts on “trying something new; 5-spice chicken

  1. I love five-spice powder. My mom used it to spice fried chicken. She’d steam the chicken first, let it cool and then deep fried. It was so delicious. Yours looks beautiful and inviting and I could almost smell the wonderful aroma.

    • Bebs, I can image that if the chicken steamed first the meat is very moist, because it steam adds moist to the meat. Really like the read of that. The dish is really nice and .. I had it twice since I first tried it out. Thanks, for your sweet comment. When somebody can feel the smell through a photo .. that is a great compliant. Food images is hard work and means the dinner is cold before you done all shots. *smile

    • Colleen, you are always welcome as my guest … in my kitchen. I wish I didn’t have to cook when I’m a lonely diner. So boring. But this dish was fun to make. Hardly no washing up.

  2. Wonder if this would get Mick eating broccoli? Oh, I forgot- he doesn’t like corn either 🙂 But I love both! Why are male and female taste buds different?
    Just popping in with a quick hug before I check out. Last 2 Bristol posts up. Hope there’s good news for the notebook. I’m outta here 🙂

    • You can served the chicken with rice … I had it with rice … great combination. I know many men that don’t eat vegetables .. for some reason. Thanks for the popping up .. and I will pop up in world in a while. Travel safe you two and enjoy your paradise. Hugs for checkin!!!

    • Forgotten about my netbook … no news .. but no news is suppose to be good news. Hate the thought to have a look for something that suits me so well as it did.

Leave a Reply

