swedish bike helmet – hövding (hovding)

Hovding - .hovding com

“Hövding” is an airbag for bikers!

Hövding started out in 2005 as a master’s thesis by the two founders Anna Haupt and Terese Alstin, who, at the time, were studying Industrial Design at the University of Lund.

The project resulted in the concept of an airbag helmet, which won Innovationsbron’s Ideas Grant. This kick-started the process of developing Hövding into a real product. In 2006 Hövding won the Venture Cup, after which Hövding Sweden AB was founded.invisible-bike-helmet - .hovding com

Today Hövding consists of 20 people, each with their own unique expertise, different backgrounds and personalities, inspired by each other and working closely together. We all see the impossible as a trigger and curiousity as a virtue.

Anna Haupt left the company in December 2014 and Terese Alstin left in February 2015.

Anna Haupt and Terese Alstin - culture.you-ng it

Hövding cost is Sweden 2695SEK/€286/£201/$316 – and in some countries you can buy an insurance for the helmet for a very small amount – so when if deployed  you just go to the shop and get a new for free.

Here in Sweden does all the major insurance companies compensates “Hövding”.

 The helmet has a black box so the company want the owner to contact them if it has been deployed. The box register the cyclist’s movements and pattern from the accident. So it can help the company with ongoing development of the product.

But the helmet is only a single use. just as for cars.

And I will invest in one … even if I’m not on my bike everyday, I will be protected in the best way when I’m. A pair of shoes can cost me half of what the helmet does and they are not always safe to even walk in. *smile

Colleen@The Chatter Blog and her Mr Brown  – this one if for you guys!!!

“The fastest I’ve ever fallen in love is 17 miles per hour.
But I was safe, because I was wearing a
bicycle helmet at the time.”
Jarod Kintz

hovding 1 hovding com

All images are provided by hovding.com – except the images of Anna & Terese/culture.you-ng.it – thank you so much!

10 thoughts on “swedish bike helmet – hövding (hovding)

  1. Oh I saw a documentary about it a while ago, They said although it’s innovative but might not be that convenient at least for the next few years. It is an interesting invention I would agree 🙂

    • Here is Sweden all insurance companies … compensate the helmet all ready – so they trust it and for next bike season I will get one. A pair of shoes can cost me half of what the helmet cost .. and they are not safe to walk in. *laughing

  2. I am honored Viveka! I’ve had a few incidents where I was knocked off of my bike and my helmet made a huge difference in my injuries. I did get a concussion once while wearing a helmet, but I can only imagine how bad it would have been if I had NOT been wearing one. Anything to make us safer I say! This is a wonderful product. I’m not seeing it promoted here yet. But I bet it will be…..

    • Colleen, the helmet is only available in Europe and Turkey for the moment .. on it’s way into Japan, but not one retailer in US. Which is a bit strange. I know somebody that biked the same way for years to work … never had an accident – early this year it happened and now she been in coma for months. And it can happen to anyone of us. Swedes are pretty good with helmets, but still not good enough. You see parents without helmets biking with their kids that has helmet, which is good. I will invest in one … soon, because it even if it’s expensive … it will save my head and neck.

      • Anything to make it safer. I always wear a helmet and insist anyone riding with me does as well. I’ve not only benefitted from it but I’ve seen others who should have. I’m so sorry for the person you know, what a horrible situation.

      • You’re so right, Colleen … it’s so easy to fall of a bit. Done in a second and sometimes is only our own doing. Yes, so sad … there was nobody else involved in her accident neither. Helmet is so important.

    • My pleasure, Mr Brown! I read just now that they are getting into the US market too. I’m going to buy one and will let you know. The size goes by the neck! I feel that this wroth the money otherwise the insurance companies would cover it when inflated through accident. will inform you when I got mine.

Leave a Reply

