rainy sunday creativity – maple mustard pork cutles

ready to goIt’s a while since I had my creative cap on …. most because I haven’t really have cooked anything exciting that I haven’t cooked before … and probably already been posted.

Last Sunday I was playing around with a recipe that I had found on the net for quite a while ago, but never come around to try it out. Found the recipe on Austrailian Taste.

Being a chef I just had to add my idea into the recipe – didn’t change it much. Increase the amount of spinach, garlic and onion … and added butter, fresh grated nutmeg and the cherry plum tomatoes.nice piece of pork

Also the cut of cutlet I went for is what we call – cutlet lion – a nice big piece without the bone and very perfect marbling, all meat needs a little fat .. otherwise it goes to dry.

When pan-frying I  always use olive oil first and quickly seal the meat and then I add a dollop of butter.pork page 1

Maple Mustard Pork Cutlets with Warm Spinach and Cannellini Bean Salad, serve 4

30ml (2 tbsp) maple syrup
30ml (2tbsp) wholegrain mustard
4 (200g each) pork cutlets, trimmed
1 large onion, chopped
2 garlic clove, crushed
5 ml (1 tsp) cumin seeds
200g baby spinach
12 cherry plump tomatoes, halved
2 x 400g cans natural cannellini beans, drained, rinsed
some fresh grated nutmeg
olive oil and butter for cooking
seasoning to tastepage 2

1. Mix the maple syrup and the mustard. Brush the cutlets on both sides and seasoning.

2. Heat a large, over medium heat, add olive oil, Seal the cutlets and add the butter. Cook for 6 to 8 minutes each side until just cooked through. Remove to a plate and cover. Set aside for 5 minutes.in the pan

3. Put the frying pan on medium heat, add olive oil and onion. Cook for about 5 min until the onion is soft. Add garlic, grated nutmeg and cumin seed. Stir for 1 minute or until fragrant. Add spinach, beans, halved tomatoes and 2 tablespoons cold water. Stir until spinach has just wilted and beans are heated through. Seasoning.

A dish that was very easy to do and full of flavors, but I knew that when I found it. I increased and add ingredients to the warm salad, because I  found it was a bit short for my taste, because it’s a really good salad that  goes well with both meat, chicken and fried fish.

No dinner on the balcony …. the rain was falling heavily. I can count on one hand how many times I been out on the balcony this summer … it has been very difficult to download the summer over here this year.

“A recipe is a story that ends with a good meal.”
Pat Conroy

so tasty

I have chosen one of the most popular songs in Italy just now ….  to be cloud over this post … Alvaro Soler is a Spanish singer, that having a hug success all over Europa with this song just now .. and I understand why, such a happy song, just what at least I need when the sun is hiding. A perfect summer hit.alvaro-soler-calamusic net

Alvor’s image provided by and thanks to; calamusic.net

10 thoughts on “rainy sunday creativity – maple mustard pork cutles

    • Thanks, Bebs …. for the lovely comment. As a chef and photographer … there will always be more to learn and take in. I suppose it goes for everybody and everything in life.

    • Dia, it must have been ice cream … because I eat ice cream most evenings. smile I seldom do special desserts when it’s only me eating.
      Wish you great Sunday!

    • Wow, this is a lovely compliment- the salad on it’s own with a nice slice of char-grilled sourdough bread .. to go would be a great summer lunch for me.
      Good luck and thank you.

Leave a Reply

