5 photos, 5 stories, 5 days – day 2

So it’s time for another story and image!! Sue@WordsVisual passed on this challenge to me yesterday.

Today I will tell you about my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE place in the world – on French Atlantic coast nearly on the Spanish border. Biarritz!!!!

The first time I came to Biarritz was in September 1977 – we was on our way to the French Rivera. Didn’t know anything about Biarritz, but when we left 5 days later I was in love with it.

Since then I must have been back about 8-10 times, it was so easy when I lived in UK, because Ryan Air had the route. Later on even Easy Jet open up theirs. From Sweden is it very complicated, with change or airport in Paris and all that carry on.

Beside the black rocks, surfers, the Atlantic Ocean, the fantastic seafood and that you walk to where ever you want to go. Biarritz has a monthly phenomenon, it has something to do with the full moon (I been told).

This phenomenon is the high waves that can be up to 4-6 meters. You see it early in morning when it’s going to happen – there is a mist far out at sea. And in a couple of hours the whole front of the town is soaked in salt water. It has nothing do do with ebb and tide.

That is when all beaches just disappear – and the red flags comes out.

Last time I was in Biarrtiz was over my 60th birthday and I will go back for my 70th too. Doesn’t matter how many changes of flights I have to do. grand plage 2

“Blue, green, grey, white, or black; smooth, ruffled,
or mountainous; that ocean is not silent.”
H. P. Lovecraft

Today I will pass on the challenge to Jo@RESTLESSJO.  Jo’s blogging world is full of beautiful images and fantastic story telling.  Stunning and always interesting posts. She drive a weekly challenge; Jo’s Monday Walk and she has many that walks with her. She like me do we have some Polish blood in our veins.

Jo, no pressure what so every for this one – there is NO must in my blogging world.

 “The challenge is to just “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

24 thoughts on “5 photos, 5 stories, 5 days – day 2

    • Chile … fantastic country and amazing people, even if I spent most of my time there on hospital. Can’t recall any waves *smile … had a stunning view over the bay in Talcahuano from my hospital bed. Have you lived in Chile??? Maybe you’re born there.

      • I grew up there since I was two and lived there for eight years, So many fond memories of my time spent there. My best memories? spending time at the beach with family, water was always so clear 😊

      • Okay, I really like Chile. I love the Chilean people, they are so friendly and caring. Sweden has a special bound with Chile, our ambassador saved 1000 of people when the Junta took over. And we are the biggest importer of Chilean wines today.

  1. Oh, interesting! I have friends who loved this coast so muc,h they moved to that area of France some years ago….time I went to visit again!

    • I love that area … and the Atlantic Ocean, it’s has so many faces. I wish I had bought a little apartment in the 70’s. Today I can’t afford a cleaning locker even. Next time I go … we will go over Gatwick and Easyjet. I hate the Paris Airports.

    • Angeline, I’m not much for flight changes when it’s inside Europe … long haul no problems, good way to stretch the legs and the body. We will fly over London instead of Paris. Thank you so much for the appreciation of the photo. One of my top favorite.

  2. I made it here at last, Vivi! 🙂 Thank you for the very kind words. How quickly you have responded! You’re a bit of an amazement yourself!
    After this recommendation how could I fail to want to visit Biarritz? 🙂 It has been on my list for the longest time (like many other places) Sadly I don’t get around as much as I’d like, but we make the best of what we have. Istanbul very soon! Please go safely 🙂 (p.S Did my Krakow postcard arrive yet? It was Bee-ooo-tiful! I posted it last day 😦 )

    • No postcard yet …. I will inform you when it has arrived. Thanks for thinking of me. You will love Biarritz … and it’s not too late … Biarritz will be there. And Easyjet flights are cheap. We have rent apartments the last times, with fantastic ocean view.
      I had forgotten that my friends don’t live in Warsaw – they live in Gdansk, so I have to fly and visit them there … too. She is expecting their first baby… a little girl. Great news.

      • Gdansk looks interesting. There are quite a few Polish places I’d like to visit but I keep getting side tracked (by weddings and babies 🙂 )

      • I been to Gdansk, the city was bombed to piece during the war – but they have rebuilt the old town like it was before the war and you can’t see what building are new and old. Beautiful city … with loads of water. I have been there a couple of times, Stena has ferries that goes between Sweden and Gdynia. Gdynia wasn’t much in those days ..but I think it has got a big face lift during the last 15 years. Babies and weddings are important things.

      • I’ve seen quite a few posts. Do you have any? No, don’t go looking- I’ll use your search later. You shouldn’t spend too long on here. More hugs- I’ve gone. Not sure where 🙂

      • No, I wasn’t into blogging or photography in those days. It’s about 15 years ago. Hugs goes with everything and suit all sizes.

  3. I’ve been missing your blog and I don’t know why because I’ve been following you before. So I did it again, for the third time. I thought of you for this challenge but you’ve been invited. You’ve been to so many beautiful places, so many stories to share. Maybe someday I would get to see the big waves of Biarritz.

    • Biarritz is a beautiful spot .. even if the waves appears. I hope it works now with my blog – thank you for following me again, Bebs. Thank you for your lovely comment.

  4. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories | restlessjo

  5. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories- Day 2 | restlessjo

  6. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories- Day 3 | restlessjo

  7. Pingback: Six word Saturday | restlessjo

  8. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories- Day 5 | restlessjo

Leave a Reply

