between cherry blossoms and azalea

very delicate

This post is all about the wonderful flowers I met during my 3 weeks in Japan, they were there in rain and sunshine.

I went to Japan in April because of the cherry blossoms (Sakura) but I met so many other beauties during my visit – don’t know all their names … some I’m familiar with, but far from all.

After the cherry blossoms has dropped the azalea starts blooming, especially in Hiroshima … they were in millions all over the city and nearly so popular with the Japanese people as the cherry blossoms. From white to the most stunning shades of pink to deep read – do they boarder all streets and fill all parks in the city.

Like Japan has their cherry blossom festivals all over the country …  they also have Azalea festivals.azaleas

There is also Wisteria Flower Tunnel at Kawachi Fuji Garden  – home of an incredible 150 Wisteria flowering plants spanning 20 different species. An incredible view, but they are not blooming until the end of April and early May. I could enjoy some in the Peace Memorial Park in Hiroshima.

blue rain

If I ever go back to Japan, that will be my main target – plus visiting Nagasaki, The Kiso Valley, Himeji and Ogimachi.

One thing is for sure the Japanese people adore their flowers, but who doesn’t???!!!

And of course there was the richness of the Orchids – in shops, hotels and restaurants.

Have arranged my gallery in random – I hope you will enjoy all this beauty as much as I do.

“The flowers like me back.”
John H. CarrollThe Queen flower

29 thoughts on “between cherry blossoms and azalea

    • Thank you, Loisa, the the lovely comment. I wish you a pleasant one too … we have rain and sunshine, shifting every hour just now. *smile

  1. When we lived in North Carolina Viveka, we had lots of azalea bushes in our garden. There was a town nearby that had an azalea festival every year. Beautiful to see.

    • Yes, I can imaging …. because Hiroshima was like a azalea festival in itself. Truly beautiful when the group them in shades … from white to deep red.

    • Funny enough I never smelled on any except a cherry tree .. the first one I met in Tokyo. They do smell lovely too. But they say when flowers smell they smile.

    • Have the most funny weather today … sunshine, hale, rain .. and now sunshine again. Yes, I have so many images of flowers …. Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I wish you a great week.

    • You’re such a sweetheart, Sylvia … thank you so much. I love my flowers and I hope they loves me too. Oscar loves them too. *smile Have a great week.

    • Maralee, you would love Japan. I would love to see the Wisteria Flower Tunnel at Kawachi Fuji Garden, but we were visiting a week to early. Next time. Also it was a bit away from where we was. Thanks, Maralee for your sweet comment.

Leave a Reply

