little boy, 6th augusti 1945 – 08:15am

the pretty and the ugly (2)When visit Hiroshima is it very hard to understand the impact that a-bomb had on the city – if it hadn’t for all the memorials all over the city it wouldn’t be noticed. All the a-bomb survival trees …with their reminders. 

What I understand was Hiroshima an industrial city before “little boy” – something I didn’t see any of today. Also long the banks of Ōta River and Peace Boulevard is it mainly apartment buildings.

my favorite  spot 

I really liked Hiroshima, because it was in my eyes a very dignified city and quite in a pleasant way. There is no noisy traffic, no beeping horns. Plenty bicycles and I didn’t have feeling of stress. Still it lives 1,2 million people in Hiroshima.

The first afternoon after the 6,5 hours ride on a very comfortable pink bus – fantastic service; Willer Express bus – I took a walk in the beautiful sunshine before even packing up. After all that rain that Tokyo and Kyoto had given us, the sunshine was so important to me.

So I walked over to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park (also called Heiwakinen Park), so beautiful and relaxing. It was very busy and I just had a short stroll, because I was going there the following day with Nancy. Only a 10 min walk from our hotel.

“Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park (広島平和記念公園 Hiroshima Heiwa Kinen Kōen?) is a memorial park in the center of Hiroshima, Japan. It is dedicated to the legacy of Hiroshima as the first city in the world to suffer a nuclear attack, and to the memories of the bomb’s direct and indirect victims (of whom there may have been as many as 140,000). The Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park was planed and designed by the Japanese Architect Kenzō Tange at Tange Lab.” (wikipedia.org)

The park was officially opened on April 1st 1954. The Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park is over 120,000 square meters and is lined with trees, lawns, flowers and walking paths, plus plenty of benches to sit down and enjoy the beautiful surrounding. 

very pround

Even if there is 57 different memorials, monuments and buildings in the park and along the river walks – the park isn’t making it’s visitors sad …. but it makes us think and reflex on things. It makes it’s visitor clam. The park embraces you.

And over the park the Japanese flag is flying proudly high. Officially the flag’s  name is Nisshōki (日章旗?, “sun-mark flag”), but is more commonly known as Hinomaru.

fallen beauties

My images here is taken during my solo visit and the next day when I visit the park together with Nancy, it wasn’t the sunny weather as the previous day had given me – it was overcast, but nice and pleasant.

My favorite spot in the park was the Hiroshima National Peace Memorial Hall fountain with the sky-lite dome and some of the rubble that the bomb created around it.  peace flame

 “REST IN PEACE. THE MISTAKE SHALL NOT BE REPEATED”
(inscription on The Memorial Cenotaph)

24 thoughts on “little boy, 6th augusti 1945 – 08:15am

  1. That view of the rebar sticking out of the building, it’s both haunting yet a powerful message of what happened, words can’t begin to describe :O

    • Colleen, of all the temples and shrines we visit – this park became my favorite …. maybe it was because it’s so current. But the city of Hiroshima had a very positive impact on me.

  2. Now that is a place I would love to visit… and knowing full well I will never get the chance, I’m glad you did, as I enjoyed the visit there with you…

    • I hope that you will get a chance to visit Japan …. it’s truly very different and beautiful. It was a magical tour. Thank you for your kind words. I enjoyed your company.

    • That house in the background was the only house standing after the bomb – it’s also called Genbaku. I love the image – I call it the pretty and the ugly.
      Was so happy when I was able to get something pretty in the picture. It’s a truly beautiful park and you feel peace with yourself when you visit it.

    • Thank you so much, it had been very hard to visit Hiroshima and not focused on the Memorial Park – it’s such a big part of the city … and Japan’s history. I really liked Hiroshima. I hope that you can make your dream come true and visit Japan one day. Worth every yen.

    • Suzanne, I’m hope too that the world has learned …. and what is the meaning with destroying and poison land for years to come. What makes me most sad is that people in Hiroshima and Nagasaki didn’t know that their land/cities was poisoned too.

  3. Lovely post, Wivi….I am glad you have posted so many photos from your trip, because it gives me a feel for Japan, as I may never get there.

  4. Beautiful, artistic shots Viveka. And lovely music to accompany them. I loved the park, but the museum was too gruesome for me. I walked out midway through the tour.

    • I didn’t visit any of the museums, I wouldn’t be able to handle it. It’s like I wouldn’t be able to visit Auschwitz. The park really embraced me. Thank you so much for your lovely comment, The park was a thankful object for the camera.

Leave a Reply

