weekly photo challenge – motion

Motion???!!!! Very tricky for me, because I’m very slow in reaction and it takes time to get my camera ready when there is some motion going on around me.Nozomi 43 arriving

But I’m just back from Japan and of course did I travel with the Shinkansen in 325km/hr – there is really no time to take photo of passing trains at the stations. Tried my best!

We traveled aboard Nozomi 43 – departure time 15.10 from Tokyo Station to Kyoto. The smoothest train journey I ever done. Just amazing experience. Not one Shinkansen has been late since the start in 1964 .The first line was between Tokyo and Osaka.Shinkansen

There have been two derailments of Shinkansen trains in passenger service. The first one occurred during the Chūetsu Earthquake in October 2004. Eight of ten cars of the Jōetsu Shinkansen derailed near Nagaoka. There were no casualties among the 154 passengers.

Another derailment happened in March 2013 on the Akita Shinkansen when train derailed in blizzard conditions. No passengers were injured.passing Shinkansen

I manage to capture  Mt. Fuji as we passed it in that high speed. The thing with Mt Fuji is that it’s mostly only showing off it’s top during the winter months and there it was my being able to capture it and in an extremely high speed.

We was up on Mt Fuji in full snow storm – so bad that everyone was told to leave at once, but that is an other story.

So even if my images maybe don’t shows a lot of motion – there truly was plenty of it.

Mt Fuji from the Shinkansen

“If everything seems under control,
you’re not going fast enough.”
Mario Andretti

**********

Why not join the challenge or at least check out all the motions this week –
just click on the logo below and it will take you there.weekly-photo-challenge-2015-logo

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/motion/

31 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge – motion

  1. Love your photos and the capture of Mount Fuji from the high speed train is amazing. Trains are one of my favorite things – always moving forward to some destiny just to stop for a moment before going to the next. The addition of the music was a nice touch as well.

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I like trains too and I travel a lot with trains here in Sweden. Very relaxing way of travel and it is easy to move around.

  2. Pingback: Photo Challenge; Motion | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. 🙂 Welcome back, dear Wivi! Sounds like you’ve had a real good trip!
    Beautiful pictures – the one of Mr. Fuji is great. The trains look funny 😉 Did you by chance take pictures of what they look like inside?
    Many hugs and much fun unpacking and washing… 😉 xo 😀

    • Dia, it was an amazing trip and it hasn’t really sank in properly yet – it’s like I’m standing “outside looking inn”. No, I didn’t take any photos inside…. nothing different to any other train. Not exciting at all, but extremely clean. Unpacked today, what a carry on and washing on Monday. Thanks …. wish you a pleasant weekend.

    • Thanks, Julie … didn’t want to leave Japan – was looking to change my return ticket … but it will cost more than a new return ticket. So maybe I will go back … but Australia first. Maybe we have a date in November next year.

    • Thank you, so much …. I was close to change my return ticket, but the price of a new single ticket would be the same as a new return ticket, so I rather go back again.

  4. You’re home again! And I have so much to catch up! I glimpsed a couple of posts and will come back to read them as soon as I can. Did you have the most amazing time? Just popping in to say thank you, thank you, thank you for my postcard 🙂 🙂 Much hugging to catch up!

    • Take it easy with the catching up … Jo, it was the most exciting trip I been on and it went so well, because in Japan it only cost 1415Yen (per piece) – £8.00 to send the luggage on to the next hotel and it will be there overnight. Everyone seems to do it. Love it .. and the heated toilet seats – my sorry ass just love Japan. They didn’t have that in 1978-79.

    • Toni, thanks …. it wasn’t easy to capture those trains in action. Very brief stops. I think every country wish they could afford trains like this.

Leave a Reply

