Jā matane (じゃあまたね) – see you later

finnair_ magictravel skSo tomorrow 16.55 will I take off – for my life’s biggest journey. I put my comfort into Finnair – with a stopover for a couple of hours in Helsinki and Thursday 14.30 will I land in Hong Kong. Hong Kong that was my playground for months in 1978-79, but haven’t been back since.

So excited – I know that so much  has changed there since then, but the basic structure is still there and so long as Star Ferries are running I  will find my way around. Have only been staying on the Kowloon side before – this time am I staying in Wan Chai, only a couple of minutes walk to the harbor front.  ocean terminal - oceanterminal com.hk

I will go and look for the shoe maker at Ocean Terminal, that tailor made my shoes to measure – I can’t remember the number of my “foot prints”. Had the shoes at least 10 years, fantastic work and beautiful  shoes. What I understand is it today is Ocean Terminal a part of Harbour City. It still looks the same from the outside – haven’t changed a bit.MS-Explorer-2005-wikimedia org

Then on to Japan – been to Yokohama a couple of times and once in Tokyo for some of shopping hours, mostly for visiting the Mikimoto main shop. Nagasaki is the place I was most familiar with in those days, when I worked aboard “LINDBLAD EXPLORER” (THE LITTLE RED VESSEL) – a beautiful city, I would love to go back, but it’s a bit fare away and I need to be back home before 27th. If I have a chance to go back to Japan, I will start off in Nagasaki  and then visit the North of Japan.

So I’m packed my 24 days and nights ….. my new pumps and Ecco sneakers, the black silk suit and 200 Tena pads into 2 suitcases. Loads of information, print outs – all in originated plastic envelops; one for each destination.Believe me there has been some serious research for months!

And I have got my papers from the “Drug Man” in Tokyo! So I’m free to enter and leave Japan with my medicines, a very efficient man.

cherry blossom - my.mail ru

In Hong Kong I will meet up with my lovely girlfriend, Nancy from Lima – that will be flying in from Rome and the adventure will start for us both. And we both sincerely hope that the cherry trees will still be in bloom when we arrive Tokyo on 8th.

Don’t worry, there will be images and posts, until you are feed up …. after my return home – maybe some smoke signals along our adventure.

So see you!!!!

“Jet lag is for amateurs”
Dick Clarksmoke-signals-atheistforums org

Images provided by and thanks to;
magictravel.sk/oceanterminal.com.hk/wikimedia.org/my.mail.ru/atheistforums.org/garbedge.com.au

55 thoughts on “Jā matane (じゃあまたね) – see you later

    • Loisa, thank you so much – I start to get really excited too now … it’s nearly a year since I decided that I will do this trip.
      Can’t wait to touch ground in Hong Kong. Happy Easter and see you soon.

    • Andy, dreaming is good start!!! I promise that I will share so much as possible. Have packed 8x 4gb SD cards. So Oscar has a busy trip ahead. Yes, it’s a great shot of Ocean Terminal – have been shopping many times there – we used to dock where that schooner is. Maybe I will be able to take a similar shot, but there is no helicopter tour planned, don’t feel very comfortable in a helicopter. Flew over Niagara Falls, I was so scared – but I did it. Happy Easter and enjoy Spring.

    • Maralee, thank you so much … I promise I will tell many stories!!! Happy Easter to you!!! And enjoy Spring .. see you in the end of the month.

  1. God speed, Vivi 🙂 Happy Easter and a fabulous life enhancing trip! I meant to pop in and say bye last night but it was a full on day. Did you sleep for excitement? How will your day go today? Will be thinking of you every step in those great shoes. Take lots of hugs with you and come back safe and well. 🙂

    • Good Morning, Girlfriend … today is all about getting ready. I have just now checked in online. Have paid extra for Comfort Class between Helsinki and Hong Kong, plenty leg space. HK¤
      I will do my money exchange … and the yen has gone down quite a bit for the last weeks, good news and HK$ is dropping too, but not enough – it relate to the US$. I’m going to the day clinic for physio treatment. Going to vacuum the apartment and put the last things into the bags.
      The same to you – have a wonderful time in Poland and Portugal – and I send you hugs to take in the cabin baggage. Travel Safe!!!!! And see you in the end of the month – we both will have loads of stories to tell.

    • Madhu, thank you so much … I enjoyed your’s sharing from Japan so much – what was the name of the park where you saw the wedding party – is it Meiji Jinger???!! Have to go there on Sunday before we take the train to Kyoto.

    • Mrs. Jones – ThAAaAAaaAnks! …. I promise we will have a fantastic trip … and there will be plenty to share on my return.
      Happy Easter to you 2!

  2. 🙂 I hope you will have arrived safe and sound by the time you read this!
    Have been thinking about you all day. Keeping my fingers crossed all goes well and you have a very HAPPY time traveling!
    Many hugs xo 🙂

    • I’m sure that I will be in safe hands with Finnair. Never flown with them before, but I have heard only good things about them. And every seat has a power plug and they have WiFi aboard. Flying JAL back.
      3,5 hour waiting in Helsinki – so I will spoil me with a good dinner there. Have my sleeping power with me this time.
      I wish you a fantastic stay in Hong Kong too … loads to compare with on return.

      • Oh, you’re still awake and enjoying pre-flight dinner. Very clever! So once you’re on the plane you can get yourself a drink and watch a movie or read or simply go to sleep 🙂
        Safe travels!
        Many hugs xoxo 🙂

      • I checked in Helsinki Airport and they have something called “Go Sleep” only airport in Europe that has this service … sleeping pods. Something I need to check out. €7 per hour the cost, convertible to very comfy seats. Same to you, safe travel.

      • Dia, you’re a bit ahead of me ….. haven’t taken off yet. 16.55. I slept well, but was awake 07.30 – vacuuming my apartment just now. Have a lovely Easter weekend.

      • Taxi is booked for 12.50 – the train leaves at 1.23 and I will be at the airport 2.14. 2,5 hour before departure. I want to go NOoOoOoW!

      • In Helsinki now …. a very modern airport – very urban – and absolutely spotless everywhere, never seen anything like it.
        So 2 more hours and maybe another cup of coffee. Should go easy on the coffee, because of my bladder problem. But …. need to think about it an other 5 seconds.
        I hope you had a great day today and that the sun stayed with you the whole time. It was nice in Landskrona too, but the wind was so bitter.

      • In Helsinki now …. a very modern airport – very urban – and absolutely spotless everywhere, never seen anything like it.
        So 2 more hours and maybe another cup of coffee. Should go easy on the coffee, because of my bladder problem. But …. need to think about it an other 5 seconds.
        I hope you had a great day today and that the sun stayed with you the whole time. It was nice in Landskrona too, but the wind was so bitter.

      • In Helsinki now …. a very modern airport – very urban – and absolutely spotless everywhere, never seen anything like it.
        So 2 more hours and maybe another cup of coffee. Should go easy on the coffee, because of my bladder problem. But …. need to think about it an other 5 seconds.
        I hope you had a great day today and that the sun stayed with you the whole time. It was nice in Landskrona too, but the wind was so bitter.

      • Went to beautiful Rievaulx Abbey and a riverside walk. Came home and ate too much pasta 🙂 Coffee- that’s where I’m heading next! Take care darlin’ 🙂

    • Hi there, Marie …. there is, but I have so many visitors that likes when the music comes on automatically.
      You can also turn it off – by clicking on the file. Happy Easter to you.

Leave a Reply

