weekly photo challenge – wall

“Walls
by
C.P. Cavafy

With no consideration, no pity, no shame,
they have built walls around me, thick and high.
And now I sit here feeling hopeless.
I can’t think of anything else: this fate gnaws my mind—
because I had so much to do outside.
When they were building the walls, how could I not have noticed!
But I never heard the builders, not a sound.
Imperceptibly they have closed me off from the outside world.

wall of drinking straws

“HAZE”
by Tara Donovan, 2003
Stacked Clear Plastic Drinking Straws
12′ 7″(H) x 42′ 2″(W) 7 3/4″(D)

Berlin Wall 1

 “BERLINER MAUER”
by
Russia, Germany and USA, 1961
96 miles (155 km) x 11.8 ft (3.60 m)
133 people were confirmed killed – 5,000 successful escapes

“We build too many walls and not enough bridges.”
Isaac Newton

***************

Why not join the challenge or just check out all the other walls.
Just click on the logo below and it will take you there.

I wish you a pleasant weekend weekly-photo-challenge-2015-logo

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/wall/

27 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge – wall

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Wall | WoollyMuses

    • I saw that they were selling piece of the wall, but that is too much of a circus for me. There was so much sadness and suffering, people killed, families was separated for years .. and now they sell it as souvenirs.
      It made me so upset.

  2. What to say? I am minded also of the Israeli wall restraining the Palestinians. When will that fall, I wonder?
    Weekend hugs, Vivi 🙂 Must be under the duvet time, with a good film 🙂

    • Jo, I totally agree … as Newton said, we do we build walls .. when we should build brides. Terrible what is going on over there- Hopefully somebody will take the first step soon. It was worked before in Northern Ireland, South Africa and Germany. Hopefully somebody will take the first step.

    • Sylvia, I had so many walls …. but for me this the ultimate ones for me. and the music, there wasn’t really any other tune than this, I love this LRSO’s version, very epic. Thanks for your support.. I LOVE this quote too …. something we all should all about it so often was possible.

  3. Pingback: Photo Challenge: Wall | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  4. Pingback: Photo Challenge: Wall | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Leave a Reply

