a little on the side – marinated broccoli

ready to eatBroccoli is one of my favorite vegetables. I eat it even raw and it is one of the healthiest vegetables. Plus I think it’s a sexy vegetable, but I’m sure it’s only me that think so. Maybe it’s because of the memories I have – not to be told here and now.  Here are some Broccoli facts;

• Broccoli can provide you with some special cholesterol-lowering benefits if you will cook it by steaming.
• Broccoli has a strong, positive impact on our body’s detoxification system, and researchers have recently identified one of the key reasons for this detox benefit.
• Broccoli may help us solve our vitamin D deficiency epidemic. When large supplemental doses of vitamin.
• Broccoli is a particularly rich source of a flavonoid called kaempferol. Recent research has shown the ability of kaempferol to lessen the impact of allergy-related substances on our body.brocolli-benefits.jpg - vitalitydirectory com

I got the idea to this little side dish from an ad-leaflet and I played around with the thought to marinade broccoli and it come out really good. My friends love it – you can eat with any meat, chicken and fish or as a base to a salad.broccoli page 2

 

Garlic and Herb marinated Broccoli, serves 4 as a side dish
200 gr broccoli, washed
1 lemon, juice
2 tbsp olive oil
1 big garlic clove, crushed
½ tsp of sugar
Finely chopped herbs – fresh, dried or frozen (I used Findus of course)

1. Slice the broccoli as fine as possible.
2. Mix all the other ingredients together
3. Coat the sliced broccoli with the marinade well, but not allowed to be soaked.
4. Let rest for about 30 min in the fridge.
5. Divide the broccoli in to portion ramekins.broccoli page 1

If you like broccoli am I very sure that you will like this dish – I eat about 4 times per week . Here I had it with honey glazed pork lion – recipe will come separate.

To find a cloud that suits broccoli????? I’m not even going to try, but because I think it’s a sexy vegetable will I chose a sexy song, at least in my ears. “I Put A Spell On You”. This track and broccoli has a very strong connection for me. IMG_3577

“Never eat broccoli
when there are cameras around.”
Michael Stipe

Nutrient chart provided by and thanks to; vitalitydirector.com

21 thoughts on “a little on the side – marinated broccoli

  1. Broccoli is one of my favourite vegetables, too. I buy some every week, but I’m usually on my own when it comes to eating it. I can’t understand why nobody else likes it! It has the most wonderful texture and flavour and goes particularly well with cheese dishes. Macaroni cheese without either broccoli or brussels sprouts is … well, there’s something missing!

    I’m intrigued about the ‘I Put A Spell On You’ and broccoli connection!

    • Thanks for your great comment – I use to make broccoli in my mash potatoes too … brussels sprouts I have a problem with it. I eat it, but I think it’s all the sprouts we had to do ever Christmas .. as a chef. At times I hate them.
      Mac n’ Cheese – what a fantastic dish that is.
      The connection with music and the broccoli is of course a man and maybe it isn’t the broccoli that is sexy – it’s the man.

  2. Love it – broccoli and this post 🙂 Never heard broccoli called sexy before! Saw Joss Stone in concert about 11 years ago – amazing. Still looking out for your pink lemonade but not seen it yet – will keep looking..

    • Suzanne, thanks for looking – strange that it come up on their online shop???? I think it really the man connected to the broccoli and the music that make me see it as sexy. Joss a great singer with a massive voice … so young too … she must be the best thing that ever come out of Dover. *smile – She was only a toddler when I lived there.
      Here is the Tesco link http://www.tesco.com/groceries/product/details/?id=260228916 and Waitrose has it too.

    • Maralee, try t marinated – it’s a truly great little side dish – I will try it as a salad base to with chicken. But don’t soak it in marinade .. and only let it rest for 30 min.

    • It’s the weather I think – and also it has become a bit lighter when it’s time for me to eat dinner. Hard to get good images when it’s too dark outside. But don’t expect recipes every second day. *laughing

    • Linda, parsnips I often mix them into my mash potatoes …. love them – sprouts I don’t mind, but it’s nothing I would buy, got feed up with them when I have to prepare them by the sack .. for Christmas over in UK: Thanks for the visit.

Leave a Reply

