i do like to be beside the seaside

18 St Mary's SqAfter a quick visit to my old home quarters of St. Mary’s Sq – was it the long walk back to the hotel, so I walked along the Marine Parade.

It was a beautiful sunny afternoon with a bit chill in the air.

St. Mary’s Sq is at the end of Kemp Town just behind the prestigious Sussex Sq and Lewes Crescent, nearly above the Brighton Marina. So I was far from my hotel on North Street.lewes crescent

It was so sad to see that the famous turquoise railing along the promenade was in such a bad state and in some parts falling off. Also the old seating booths and benches was in a terrible state. That is such big part of Brighton’s history that isn’t looked after.

There were new benches that had been donated with some lovely inscriptions – this is my favorite. That could be me – when I lived in Brighton, I didn’t sit down often enough on the promenade and take time to enjoy the sea view.my favorite

The dusk was coming rapidly the closer I got to the Old Steine and the Palace Pier.

I had read about a restaurant by name “Thewitchez Photo Design Cafe Bar” down opposite the big wheel, that was suppose to have great food. Had plans to go there in the evening, but my feet told me that if I go back to the hotel I will not be able to walk back to the restaurant. So I went for a yearly dinner.

A little cafe run by 3 Polish girls – that also works with web and photo design. Very cozy atmosphere and the food is so hearty. A must if you are visiting Brighton. The service very personal and good. They treated me as if I was a repeating guest.

Had Hungarian dumplings with beef stew, very tasty comfort food and as dessert a Pavalova. The menu isn’t big, but very well prepared food. Their coffee is excellent. Spent hours there chatting with the 3 lovely girls.

I had hoped that I will get shots of the Palace Pier all lit up, but they must have had an electrical failure, because it was no lights what so ever.

So that is a reason good enough to visit Brighton again, to get those shots – also I would like to walk the opposite direction on Kings Road … against Hove.

Oh! I do like to be beside the seaside
I do like to be beside the sea!
I do like to stroll upon the Prom, Prom, Prom!
Where the brass bands play: “Tiddely-om-pom-pom!”

big wheel

30 thoughts on “i do like to be beside the seaside

    • Colleen, I have the same problems if i stay at home or if I travel … it that is what you mean.
      It’s all up to me how my life will turn out in the end, I guess. *smile Thank you so much for your faithful support.

    • Colleen, I have the same problems if i stay at home or if I travel … it that is what you mean.
      It’s all up to me who my life will turn out in the end, I guess. *smile Thank you so much for your faithful support.

  1. 🙂 Me too! I LOVE to be by the sea side! 🙂
    Beautiful pictures, dear Wivi! I can just imagine standing there, smelling the salty sea breeze. And the pier reminds me of my childhood days in California.
    I like engraving in the bench – yes, that could be you!
    Lots of love xoxoxo 🙂

    • I know, I want to go back …. had a great time and the promenade in Brighton is endless. I didn’t know that your childhood was in located in California. Luck you … plenty seaside there. Not much in Vienna.
      Thanks for the lovely comment. Yes, that bench was me .. when living in Brighton. I sit down and enjoy ocean when I have a chance those days.
      Lots of …

      • Sue, all the photos is from the same street – I walked from more or less the Marina to Palace Pier – and if you slightly click on the photo every photo will tell where on Marine Parade they are from. I misunderstood, because I picked it up as you parked on the same side of the seafront as the West Pier was. My mistake.

      • Sue, When you explained where you parked I got it to that you parked around Kings Road and Grand Hotel … on the West Pier side. And Brighton Center. *smile

  2. I can tell you lived in Brighton – you mention The Palace Pier in your comment to Sue! It’ll always be that name to me too 🙂 Lovely photos – was there again yesterday 🙂

    • Bunny, now you make me envious. I want to go back too … *smile I call it both Palace Pier and Brighton Pier, depends what word comes first to me. But I always thought that West Pier was called Western Pier – I always called it Western. Think I got the wires wrong on that one. *lauging

  3. This music so makes me smile, Vivi, and I want to jaunt along that prom too! 🙂 I’d forgotten about your meet ups with Sue and Suze 🙂 I think I was only ever there once, long, long ago.

    • I love this song too … so happy I found it for this post. Yes, I met up with both girls and there will be posts coming soon. Brighton is a really cool place to be. I will go back again soon.

Leave a Reply

