sometimes we don’t have to understand

1993_World_choir_logo - cotswoldmvc org

a word of what we hear … and still be taken by it. This happens every time I listen to this song.

This I think is so remarkable .. I love to share remarkable things with the rest of the world, at least when it’s about music.

1993 the worlds largest male choir was giving a concert at Cardiff Arms Park, Wales, UK – over 8.000 male choir singers from Wales, UK and from all over the world was singing together with Tom Jones, Dennis O’Neill, Dame Gwyneth Jones and Oliver Simmons.
The all 8.000+ male singers sings in Welsh – and I can’t explain what language that is – in some schools in Wales is the first language to learn and English comes second.

But what I could say is that – its a language that uses more consonants than vowels.
Look at the village name – the second longest place name in the world – there is a place in New Zealand that has 85 letters.
It is a village on the island of Anglesey in Northern Wales: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch (57 Letters)platform ticket - agenciamass com

To be honest I don’t understand anything of the Wales language, but they can sing in Wales – and they sing so often they have a chance, must be something in the water. I think every village, town and city has their own male choir. Look at Tom Jones, Duffy, Charlotte Church, Katherine Jenkins and Shirley Bassey – they all have voices larger than life.

This track give you the brilliantine in singing power – over 160 male choirs in total and they all sing in Wales, that on it’s own is magical achievement.The World Choir cd

The song has a unique story: Gwahoddiad

“Gwahoddiad” was originally the English-language hymn “I hear thy welcome voice”, the words and tune of which were written in 1872 by the American Methodist minister and hymn writer Lewis Hartsough (1828–1919), during a revival meeting at Epworth, Iowa where Hartsough was Pastor, he was music editor of  The Revivalist, first published in Troy, New York in 1868 and revised in 1872.
In 1906 Ira D. Sankey wrote:
“The words and music of this beautiful hymn were first published in a monthly, entitled, Guide to Holiness, a copy of which was sent to me in England. I immediately adopted it, and had it published in Sacred Songs and Solos. It proved to be one of the most helpful of the revival hymns, and was often used as an invitation hymn in England and America.”

The Welsh version “Gwahoddiad”, written by Calvinistic Methodist minister and musician Rev. John Roberts, has become so well known in translation that many people believe it to be a traditional Welsh hymn.

Why not sing along !!!!!

“Gwahoddiad”

Mi glywaf dyner lais,
Yn galw arnaf fi,
I ddod a golchi ‘meiau gyd.
Yn afon Calfari.

Byrdwn
Arglwydd, dyma fi
Ar dy alwad di,
Golch fi’n burlan yn y gwaed[9]
A gaed ar Galfari.

Yr Iesu sy’n fy ngwadd,
I dderbyn gyda’i saint,
Ffydd, gobaith, cariad pur a hedd,
A phob rhyw nefol fraint.

Yr Iesu sy’n cryfhau,
O’m mewn Ei waith trwy ras;
Mae’n rhoddi nerth i’m henaid gwan,
I faeddu ‘mhechod cas.

Gogoniant byth am drefn,
Y cymod a’r glanhad;
Derbyniaf Iesu fel yr wyf,
A chanaf am y gwaed.

Amen, Amen, Amen

Images provided by and thanks to: cotswoldmvc.org/europosters.ro/agenciamass.com Gallery: clampd.com/avtora.com/thes-b.com/clickceleb.com/apelzin.ru

6 thoughts on “sometimes we don’t have to understand

  1. Ok Vivi- you got me singing! I’m almost word perfect but my pronunciation might be a little off 🙂 Hope you had a lovely weekend! A smattering of snow arrived here today and it’s freezing solid tonight. Could be a slippy day tomorrow. Take care! 🙂

    • I would love to hear your singing along – I just love this song … even if I don’t understand a word. Good on you. My weekend was very quite – but a little sunshine now and then. Today rain and snow …. wet anyhow. No snow as such. I just love to have some for a couple of days.
      It will come when I’m in UK and total meltdown on Gatwick. *smile Stay upright now. *smile

      • Our walk was cancelled this morning due to ice and snow 😦 It would be a pretty location in snow but driving conditions tricky. It’s my son’s birthday on Friday but I will be in London (I would prefer the weather to be kinder then 🙂 ). He’s home till tonight so I’ve said he can be birthday boy today 🙂 🙂

      • You stay safe … there is more Monday’s coming up for walking. I think you son will enjoy the idea with more than one birthday. I hope that the weather will kind to London and you during your visit. I love London in January, but the weather is truly a gamble. We will probably get your weather this week then. I can live without the icy sidewalks, but I really want some real winter now. Monday hug.

    • Never thought about that …. but I haven’t read the books or seen the movies. I like Welsh, but don’t have a clue what they are saying. Love this track.

Leave a Reply

