the dance scene – malcom x (lindy hop)

dance - psd150 orgI wonder how many of us remember the great dance scene in “Malcom X”, not many I guess.

The movie from 1992 featuring Denzel Washintong and directed by Spike Lee. A fantastic soundtrack with some great tunes and songs by Terence Blanchard.

I’m a massive Denzel Washinton fan – I must have watched everything he has done so far. He is also on my top ten list the sexiest men I know about, he is #4. His voice, the way he moves … the eyes, the body … the laughter … the smile and that beautiful mouth with those lips  – I just can’t get enough of the full package. malcom x - denzel - krnb com

Another of my favorite movies … 202 min long and it always keep me awake. Its so good as it gets. An epic  film in the history of cinema in my book. Spectacular!!! And I personal  believe Denzel are Malcom X – not possible to come closer to the truth.

I don’t remember anything about Malcom X from school and he as murdered 2 years after I finished school. So when the movie came out – I knew very little about who he were and what he stood for.

After seeing the movie I bought the “The Autobiography of Malcolm X”, but I can’t say I really clicked with book or the man. But in the movie I was totally there. Don’t know if I should have read the book before I watched the movie.

The dance scene is choreographed with the help of Frankie Manning (blue suit) & Norma Miller (yellow dress) also performed in the scene. Song is “Flying Home” by Lionel Hampton.  I think Spike Lee in the lime green suit does a good afford on the dance floor and even Denzel in the dark striped are on his feet.

Lindy Hop seems to be a mad … and fun dance – I can’t even imaging myself giving it a try – I leave that up to the professionals.

malcom x - poster - badassdigest com

Cast
Denzel Washington
Angela Bassett
Albert Hall
Al Freeman, Jr.
Delroy Lindo
Spike Lee

An epic portrayal of the life and times of the slain civil rights leader Malcolm X begins with the cross-cut imagery of the police beating of black motorist Rodney King juxtaposed with an American flag burning into the shape of the letter X. The movie jumps back to World War II-era Boston, where Malcolm Little  is making his living as a hustler. The son of a Baptist preacher who was murdered by the Ku Klux Klan.

Malcom aka Little was raised by foster parents after his mother was deemed clinically insane; as an adult, he turned to a life of crime, which leads to his imprisonment on burglary charges. In jail, Little receives epiphany in the form of an introduction to Islam; and he his marriage to a Muslim nurse named Betty Shabazz follows, after which X spearheads a well-attended march on a Harlem hospital housing a Muslim recovering from an episode of police brutality.

The march’s success helps elevate X to the position of Islam’s national spokesperson. There is dissension in the ranks, however, and soon X is targeted for assassination by other Nation leaders; Malcolm’s influence is growing. After getting wind of the murder plot, X leaves the Nation of Islam, embarking on a pilgrimage to Mecca; renouncing his separatist beliefs, his oratories begin embracing all races and cultures. During a 1965 speech, Malcolm X is shot and killed, reportedly by Nation of Islam members. (text: rottentomates.com)

“Malcom X” is a very powerful and strong movie – about a man with strong believes and with a enormous will to make a difference.

And today we have a black president in the White House since 2009 and also one of the most powerful men in the world.

 “The future belongs to those who prepare for it today.”
Malcolm X

malcom x - youtube com

“My Prayer” is a 1939 popular song with music by salon violinist Georges Boulanger and lyrics by Jimmy Kennedy. It was originally written by Boulanger with the title “Avant de Mourir” in 1926. The lyrics for this version were added by Kennedy in 1939. Glenn Miller recorded the song that year for a #2 hit and The Ink Spots’ version featuring Bill Kenny reached #3 as well that year. (text; wikipedia.org)

On the soundtrack and in the movie it’s preformed by The Ink Spots, but here with The Platters. A great track. Personal I thought this song was much younger … 1926???!!!

Information and some text from rottentomatoes.com & imdb.com – thanks!
Images provided by and thanks to:
krnb.com
Gallery 1; dvdtalk.com/furiouscinema.com/livejournal.com/mfdb.org
badassdigest.com
Gallery 2; thegrio.com/tallglassofstyle.com/nooz.gr/rebloggy.com
youtube.com

 

 

8 thoughts on “the dance scene – malcom x (lindy hop)

  1. I remember learning about him in history class, it was a cruel period he lived in which made him take the cruel route, as opposed to Martin Luther King Jr.
    I want to see the movie now!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Uru, so well said … so glad that things has really changed, but a pity that it should take so much killing, unfairness and suffering before getting there. You should see the movie – it’s a great … big movie.

  2. Have not seen ‘Malcolm X’ but very much agree with you about Denzel Washington: intelligent, charming and yes, very sexy 🙂 ! Quite my kind of guy!!! A very good actor besides . . . Being a wee bit older than you I do remember seeing the ‘lindy hop’ in a number of films – there is not ‘enough dance’ and too much eyecatching ‘other stuff’ in this version . . .methinks it is a ‘dance’ to let off frustration and steam first and foremost: go crazy a bit 🙂 ! Hope no problems with the electricity being gone for the day and also hope it was not too wet to go to Denmark . . .

    • Eha, I think this is a good dance scene and it’s the only movie I have seen that I can recall having a lindy hop scene, I can’t post films that I haven’t seen. I’m not an expert on lindy hop, but I like this scene. I’m sure there is better dancing going on … I would love to check other versions.
      The electricity was only off for a couple of hours .. everything back to normal, and another deep gray day, thanks

  3. I agree that Denzel Washington did an excellent job in the movie Malcolm X. And as a person who loves dance, I thought the lindy hop scene was excellent.

    • Colline, you are the right company for a good movie and some dancing. *smile – I think the scene is good too, but I have very little to compare with.
      I wish you a pleasant weekend .. and thanks for taking the time to stop by. *smile

Leave a Reply

